Day 17 - ending at Oden, AR - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

May 31, 2023

Day 17 - ending at Oden, AR

Day 17 - Rover, AR to Oden, AR
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 5:30am to work on report. Paused at 8:10am to eat strawberry fig bars and take my pills. Another beautiful morning and a day that should include some downhills. Destination for today is a campground in Oden, Arkansas - Edendell RV and Camping.

At 10:32am, I started today's riding with a controlled downhill coast on the gravel road I walked up last night in the dark. Then back on AR-27. I am so thankful for the shoulder along this road and most all the roads I've been on in this area. There's not too many vehicles passing by, but it's nice to have a place to be when they do, especially on a downhill coast when I don't want to lose momentum. There were downhills for sure today, but also uphills - none I had to walk.

I crossed the South Fourche River at 11:00am. Arrived in Aly at 11:57am. There was shade under a tree next to Aly Community Church and Cemetery that made a good spot for a break. I ate snacks from my front bag, recorded the noon mileage (10.3 miles), and took a short nap. Back at it at 12:30pm.

The town of Story was next and I arrived there at 1:37pm. The Blue Bell Country Store and Cafe is there. Inside I ordered the special - smoked sausage sandwich, fries, sweet tea, and cake for dessert. So very good and only $8. Also was able to charge my phone as I uploaded yesterday's report, all the while drinking refills of sweet tea. Just before leaving (at 2:55pm), I called the campground I was headed toward. They were open. I could tell that the campground host was already figuring out what site with electricity I might like best. I told her I was in Story, several hours away, and would give her a call when I arrived in Oden.

Washita was the next town. I arrived there at 3:14pm. Made the right turn to get on AR-88. A few ups and downs on my way to Sims, but nothing too bad. On to Pencil Bluff. Stopped there at Yellow Store at 5:37pm, thinking I might have a light supper. Well, the grill had just been shut down since they close at 6:00pm, so I had a chocolate milk at the counter instead. I sure am taking it easy today.

I rode through Oden just after 6:00pm, arriving at the RV park area for Edendell Campground at 6:10pm. I called them. Camp Host Joanna had me ride down the road just a ways to an area she thought I would like better. She was right! This spot has everything I need, plus more - a flat spot for the tent next to an electrical box, bathrooms, showers, laundry area, kitchen area, and great views to the east. All this for $12! There's a lodge here that they're fixing up to make a Bed and Breakfast, but it's not quite ready yet. Lots of flowers planted around the area. I was impressed with the blooms.

Joanna left so I could get set up. As soon as the tent was up, I was heading for a shower. After that it was do laundry. They have three washing machines and four dryers here, all for free use. The table in the kitchen area provided a nice place to sit and work on picture selection as my laundry dried. Staying here is sure working out nice. Finally got everything back in the tent and got into my clean sheet-lined sleeping bag at 11:05pm.

Jeff

Spent: $8 plus $4 (lunch) + $2 (chocolate milk) + $12 (campsite) = $26

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltHeal all.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanessa_atalanta
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltExcellent photo! It is a skink, probably a southern coal skink.

https://herpsofarkansas.com/reptiles/lizards/plestiodon-anthracinus/
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
Thanks for sharing your knowledge on all I'm seeing.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Kathleen JonesHope that’s one you rode down and not up. Whew.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Yes, this was a downhill for me.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 2
Nancy GrahamSome great choices. And great prices by our Seattle standards!! Cheap comes to mind if we compare. 😉
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
Yes, as I was paying I said, "Only eight dollars?"
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltVery nice macro of a borer beetle... possibly a sculptured pine borer.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/183193-Chalcophora-virginiensis
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltWhat a great place! Even a rocking horse if you want more saddle time! :-)
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Nancy GrahamAll this for $12. That is a real deal!!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
I loved it here.
Hadn't noticed the other riding option.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
I told Joanna that was a pretty low rate compared to some campgrounds I have been at.
And the accommodations were the best!
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 731 miles (1,176 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0