Day 16 - ending near Rover, AR - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2023

Day 16 - ending near Rover, AR

Day 16 - Morrilton, AR to Rover, AR
Heart 0 Comment 0

The morning started off at 5:10am with the usual tasks: report writing, then packing. Took a break to eat some pop-tarts, then just before I left, I called my wife to see how her weekend went. She's busy and is doing well.

Today's destination is Fourche Mountain Recreation Area near Rover, Arkansas. I see on Google Maps that its elevation is even higher than where I am right now, so today's riding will be from mountaintop to mountaintop.

I left the campground at 10:43am. The Visitor Center for Petit Jean State Park is a little ways ahead on my way west. I stopped there to pay for last night's camping.

Continuing on west, I passed a road to Cedar Falls Overlook Trail, and decided to check that out. The road wasn't too long, but there was more hiking involved than I realized, though it was on a beautiful boardwalk trail. Finally got to a spot where I could see Cedar Falls and Cedar Falls Canyon - still too far away for a good picture. I had pleasant conversations with two other visitors who were sitting on a bench at the lookout platform before I walked back uphill to the parking lot.

Mather Lodge Restaurant was ahead a short ways, where I planned to eat either breakfast or lunch. I was handed a lunch menu when I arrived there at 11:40am. Chicken Fried Chicken is what I went with along with a piece of pecan pie for dessert, and sweet tea to drink.

With ice for my thermos and a purchased Gatorade, I was ready to get today's ride underway - at 12:57pm.

The morning's mileage was 2.5 miles - not much of a contribution to the 38 miles I needed to go today.

I stopped at a lookout spot at the intersection of AR-154 and AR-155, then turned left on to AR-155 for an incredible downhill that just kept going and going. Went through Rose Creek, then Casa to get to AR-10. Just before Casa I had eight dogs chasing me, four from one house started and were joined by four from another. I'd made a wrong turn but wasn't going to correct it by going back past the dogs, so that's how I ended up going through Casa. It was a short detour. Turned back west and enjoyed flat AR-10 going west. Logging trucks were passing me now then, and there were pieces of bark all along the shoulder. When I arrived in Ola shortly after 4:00pm, I passed the destination for the logging trucks - a company named PotlatchDeltic.

I stopped at 7T Kwik Stop in Ola for, first a chocolate milk, then a slushie. I probably spent too much time there, but they had a nice place to sit inside where it was cool.

Left Ola at 5:01pm using AR-28 to get to Rover. I came to the Junction Cafe in Plainview and decided a light supper would be a good idea. I ordered from their senior menu: 1/2 Hamburger Steak Dinner. All the portions were one half of the regular meal. Also got a vanilla milkshake. No one can say I'm not eating enough today. I found a table next to an outlet, so I was able to charge my phone some while I ate.

I left the cafe at 6:41pm with still more flat riding ahead - at least to Rover. After Rover, past the Fourche LaFave River, is where the climbing started. It was 7:43pm and my DeLorme PN-60 GPS said I was at 390 feet elevation. This hill was so much better than the one I did yesterday - there is a nice shoulder and the grade is gentle. Still I decided that I'd do some walking on this one. Walking worked a little better than riding for me because I don't have to stop to catch my breath. Though, I did do some riding also.

I was fortunate to be lined up on the road to get a picture of the sun setting behind me. It was fun watching the elevation register on the PN-60 as I continued on. When it got dark I turned on my flashers, though there were very few vehicles passing. Finally at 9:12pm, I was at the top. The GPS was reporting 1109 feet as the elevation. The camping area was close - the gravel road to it just a little further on, starting back downhill. I was walking up this road in the dark. There hadn't been any signs about the camping area and I began to wonder if I really knew where it was. I finally parked the bike on the road and walked up a little further. There it is, to the left at the top of this hill! There are three nice camping areas with picnic tables that I could see. I made my selection by 9:25pm. Sent out a shorter-than-usual evening email, then got set up. Some picture selection after that while listening to a whip-poor-will carrying on. At 11:10pm I started my second night sleeping on a mountain top.

Jeff

Spent: $30.04 plus $6 (lunch) + $2.50 (Gatorade) + $5.28 (Gatorade, chocolate milk) + $2.75 (Slushie) + $10.56 plus $3 (supper) = $60.13

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 2
Jeanna & Kerry SmithCool - probably not common for you to encounter a road named Teel.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna and Kerry,
Yes, but I did find another on a previous trip:
https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/eclipse/day-2-ending-near-rushville-il/
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI kinda miss the old hood ornaments...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill,
The fancy ones were before my time. This was on a Ford "Super Deluxe 8".
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 4
Timothy SwitzerI saved a copy .... what a great photo!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kathleen JonesThis is one to remember. Great shot.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Timothy SwitzerTim,
For sure! Thanks.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
Thanks!
It was so peaceful there, but then I was also thinking, "It's going to get dark on you before you get to the campground."
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 694 miles (1,117 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0