Day 15 - ending near Morrilton, AR - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2023

Day 15 - ending near Morrilton, AR

Day 15 - Greenbrier, AR to Morrilton, AR
Heart 0 Comment 0

The closest bathroom I could find at this campground is over at the Snack Bar/Bathhouse building. It's a pleasant stroll. A walk there started my day off at 4:35am.

Worked on report then packed up. Checked the tires for air pressure. Brought them both up from 58psi to 70psi. Ate a chocolate-covered Snickers bar that I bought by mistake. Figured it'd be less of a melted mess if I ate it in the cooler morning.

Today's destination is Petit Jean State Park located west of Morrilton, Arkansas. The park is on top of Petit Jean Mountain, so there'll be some climbing to do when I get close. My more immediate goal was to get to Greenbrier for breakfast and a good cell phone signal.

Went to the park office, paid my fee for camping last night, and was on my way at 8:52am. It was a peaceful morning ride on AR-285. Not as peaceful once I was on US-65, a four-lane highway with no real shoulder. But everyone moved to the left lane for me, until I was in busier area of Greenbrier. I was trying to get to Wagon Wheel Restaurant. Google Maps recommended a roundabout way on the east side of town, and this time I agreed. But the restaurant was closed due to it being Memorial Day, I should have thought of that. Made my way back north to Sonic, which was quite busy. Easily got the report sent in with the strong 5G signal there and enjoyed breakfast.

I needed to get back north to AR-25. It looked like the best way was just to walk on the grass in front of businesses, which is what I did. Popped into a Shell station right at the intersection and bought a Dr Pepper for the ice, then it was noon already. 12.5 miles of morning riding and walking on grass.

Now, actually getting somewhere, I arrived in Wooster at 12:30pm. A local road (Shaw Bridge Road/Caney Valley Drive) straight west was the routing next. Very pleasant riding with so much less traffic. Then I came to a bridge. The road on the other side of the bridge was gravel! But this gravel was rideable, so not a big deal, except that I was going only 5 mph. There was only 3.75 miles of the gravel before pavement appeared on the other side of another bridge.

I arrived at AR-92 at 2:37pm. Took a snack break, then headed on into Plumerville. Took back roads west after that to get to the Arkansas River, crossing south of Morrilton. On to AR-9 then to Oppelo. I stopped at the Conoco station there for a strawberry milk and a Powerade, before getting on highway AR-154 to the park.

There were several miles of flat riding for me until 5:20pm, when I got to the start of the 700 foot climb to the top of the mountain. I wanted to see if I could ride all the way up, with breaks of course. Well I did it! I didn't walk, but I think walking would have been quicker, considering how many breaks I had to take. I kept having to stop to catch my breath and to rest my legs. The bike in the lowest gear was having no problem with the hill - Good Bike!

I had about 200 feet of climbing left when a car that had passed me stopped and started backing down the hill towards me. When she got alongside she rolled down the passenger window. I said, "I'm almost there." She asked if I wanted a ride. When I said no, she replied, "I'm proud of you!"

I arrived at the top at 6:42pm. There's a side road at this spot that goes to a scenic outlook area. After discussions with a motorcyclist who had just been there, I made my way there. What a joy to ride at a normal speed again!

There's lots of history at the scenic lookout area (Stouts Point) about activities in the past. I took pictures of information signs to read later. Mostly I was enjoying these spectacular views. I could see AR-154 from here and the Arkansas River.

I was back at the intersection with AR-154 at 7:10pm, ready for the 4 miles of flat coasting to the state park. Arrived at the campground and my selected site (#72) at 7:44pm.

Sent out evening email, set up, took shower, selected pictures, and was in bed at 11:20pm, ready for some sleeping on a mountaintop.

Jeff

Spent: $15.30 plus $4.70 (breakfast) + $3.48 (Vitaminwater, Dr Pepper) + $6.21 (Powerade, strawberry milk) + $20.68 (campsite) = $50.37

Heart 4 Comment 2
Jeanna & Kerry SmithGorgeous photo!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithJeanna and Kerry,
Thanks. I was looking for a morning lake view and found one I was pleased with.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tiny house.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
For that cold drink on the road.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 651 miles (1,048 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Nancy GrahamA refrigerator in the middle of the trail? Is there a story here?
You do a great job of choosing your food supplies and meals.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Nancy GrahamNancy,
I can only guess the story here. The refrigerator was on one of the legs of a triangle intersection. Blocking one side of the triangle wouldn't block traffic, just make it inconvenient.
I think someone was looking for an easy way to dispose of their old refrigerator and decided letting the county highway department take care of it was the easiest.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago