Day 14 - ending near Greenbrier, AR - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

May 28, 2023

Day 14 - ending near Greenbrier, AR

Day 14 - Searcy, AR to Greenbrier, AR
Heart 0 Comment 0

Getting started from a motel room is always easier since the bike is still half packed, so getting up at 6:15am worked. Checked out of the motel at 8:02am, and was on my way to breakfast at Wendy's. Today's destination is Woolly Hollow State Park. Even though it's still the holiday weekend, I'm figuring someone probably gave up early and there'd be a camping spot for me.

I varied my original route plan to make sure I stayed on highways today, so the first goal was to make it to Quitman using AR-36 and AR-124. It took a while to get through Searcy. I rode on sidewalks for part of that. Finally cleared town. Came to a pretty church - Smyrna Church, which is now part of the Searcy Parks Department, according to the sign.

Nearing 10:30pm, I stopped at a Dollar General Store  in Center Hill for a chocolate milk. Saw a Little Debbie treat and bought that also. It was surprisingly yummy. While I was outside eating, a pickup truck pulling a big boat parked. The fellow driving the truck (Eric) saw my bike and wanted a picture. Eric had been out on his boat this weekend for a leisurely day on the White River, visiting with groups that had parked their boats near sandbars. He also likes to go kayaking by himself on a small river nearby where he'll be out three or four nights, seeing no one, eating fish, and sleeping in a hammock.

There were some hills today and I was happy to be done with one long climb when I arrived in Joy at 11:58am. I was still catching my breath there at noon: 15.4 miles done. A little farther into town I came upon an abandoned gas station. The canopy there provided shade and the pump island a good spot to lie down for a moment.

Rode through Rose Bud at 1:20pm, and arrived in Quitman at 2:51pm. I stopped there at Flash Market 24, mainly to get ice, but I added orange soda to it. Looking for some shade I ended up sitting on a bench in front of some old buildings. The highway was maybe 25 feet from where I was sitting. For some reason, cars were going slow at that spot, and everyone started waving at me. I think they thought I was a local resident.

I continued my ride heading south on AR-25 then AR-107. There were several route choices to get from the highway to the park. I was thinking most all of them had gravel roads along the way, but it would only be a couple miles. At 4:15pm I made my choice: turn onto Mauldin Road. It led to several other roads (all paved!) and then to the park entrance, where I arrived at 5:05pm.

At the park office, which had closed at 5:00pm, was a sign saying they were full. Arkansas State Parks have a no-turn-away policy for touring bicyclists, so I figured it'd be OK to set up in an improvised site close to the other campers.

I parked my bike next to the tree where I was going to set up, then walked over to the beach area where they have a concession stand. The place closes at 6:00pm, but the grill had been shut down at 5:30pm. I happened upon a park ranger (Matt) there, so explained my camping situation. He said where I was going to set up would be fine. He stopped by later at my site, which gave me an opportunity for a picture. I told Matt some about my plans, and how to I was happy today that I didn't have to walk up too many hills. Matt told me what I saw today was just the foothills. So, I guess it's yet to be seen if I'll be walking the rest of my way across Arkansas.

Jeff

Spent: $7.85 (breakfast) + $3.82 (chocolate milk, Fudge Round) + $1.52 (orange soda) + $12.27 (campsite) = $25.46

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 4
Gregory GarceauThat looks the Arkansas roads I remember from 40 years ago. They were a major challenge for my little Plymouth Horizon; I can't imagine the challenge they'd be for my legs.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Kathleen JonesKathleen,
It looks worse than it was. I actually was able to ride up this one.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Gregory GarceauGreg,
I had a Plymouth Horizon, or maybe it was the Dodge equivalent. I really liked that car, but it was rusting out at the strut mounts.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauThat looks like the Arkansas canoeing I remember from many years ago. The reason for my trips to Arkansas was to canoe the amazing Buffalo River National Wild & Scenic River, though I don't think that's what's in your picture.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Gregory GarceauGreg,
This was Lake Bennett at Woolly Hollow State Park.
I'll have to read up on the Buffalo River.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 600 miles (966 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0