Day 18 - ending near Mena, AR - The Great Plains Trail - Sort Of - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2023

Day 18 - ending near Mena, AR

Day 18 - Oden, AR to Mena, AR
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another great night's sleeping. Got up at 5:07am. I noticed last night there are a variety of tea and instant coffee packets in the kitchen area of the bathroom/shower/laundry building. This morning I helped myself to a pack of instant coffee, which is such a treat when I'm on trips, since it's usually not available. Worked on report sitting at the table with the phone charger plugged in a nearby outlet. Staying at this campground worked out so well for me - as good as staying in a motel. Note the picture of the washing machines is for my wife.

I flipped the bike over this morning to give the tires a close inspection. Looking good - no debris found on the tread, even though I've ridden past lots of disintegrated truck tires. Pieces of fine steel wires from those tires tend to stick to bike tires and eventually cause a puncture. These tires I have on the bike aren't showing any signs of wanting to grab onto those wires.

All ready to go at 10:01am. Tonight I'm hoping to be at Shadow Mountain RV Park, which is southwest of Mena, Arkansas. Yet another short mileage day, since I'm not out of the Arkansas hills quite yet. I haven't turned on the Garmin GPS for a few days since just following the road map works in this area. Today it's AR-88 to US-71. First though, I'll ride back into downtown Oden for breakfast.

It took me four minutes to get to Big T's General Store. When I walked in one of the two older gentlemen sitting at the front said, "Are you from here?" I got the last biscuit and grabbed a few other items while we talked. I was outside ready to leave when I remembered I wanted to get some ice for my thermos. Back in the store they filled it up for free.

At 10:35pm I was on my way heading in the right direction. It amazes me how many days I've had now without rain. They've been beautiful days for bicycling, and today was another.

Arrived in Pine Ridge, Arkansas at 11:51am. I'd heard of 'Lum and Abner', a radio program of the past, but really didn't know more than that. Pine Ridge is where it all started, and they have a museum here, but today it was closed. I walked around and checked out an old fire engine they have here. Then I sat on one of the benches on the front porch of the museum, reading a brochure of the place.

Noon progress was 9.0 miles.

I arrived at Cherry Hill at 12:48pm. Cherry Hill Country Store was advertising ice cream so I pulled in. Decided to get a root beer float and added a BLT sandwich.

The hills weren't too bad today, but I was moving forward after lunch at a pretty slow pace. Decided I needed a nap, and the town of Ink had just the spot for one near their cemetery. Just 5 minutes was all I needed. Back on AR-88 at 2:50pm. Next town - Mena.

There was more traffic passing me as I got closer to Mena. Still, there was adequate shoulder until there wasn't, when the road went from two to four lanes in town. Riding in the right lane, close to the shoulder, worked for a while. Later I abandoned the road to walk on the grass. I found refuge from all this when I rolled into Cruizzers Drive-In at 3:30pm. I ordered a hamburger and vanilla shake. I kept checking Google Maps while I ate to see if there was a less hectic way to get out of town.

At 4:09pm I started on my side street plan. That worked OK, but didn't get me far enough out of town on the southwest side - the highway was still four lanes, no shoulder. So, back to walking on the grass. But that was only a few blocks before traffic thinned out to where I was comfortable back on the road. Completely out of town is where the road went from four to two lanes. Now I had the widest shoulder of the day!

It was just a few miles more to the campground, and I arrived there at 5:32pm. The campground owner gave me a Shadow Mountain pen as she checked me in. After paying, she led me downhill a little ways, then gave me a choice of electrical sites close to the bathrooms. There's wifi here and that'll help, since today I received yet another Verizon data overcharge notice.

Got set up, then ate more of the strawberry fig newton's I've been carrying. A cat joined me. We were both enjoying the evening.

I decided to head to bed early tonight (at 9:40pm) to see if I can stop the need for naps in the afternoon. Once I laid down, I noticed that the top red beacon of the nearby cell tower was flashing right at me through the front door screen. Not enough of a bother to keep me awake.

Jeff

Spent: $8.82 plus $1 (breakfast) + $10.29 plus $2.25 (lunch) + $7.28 plus $2.72 (supper) + $4.91 (Vitaminwater, Coke) + $29.63 (campsite) = $66.90

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Gregory GarceauNice find. It seems a little ironic for a Baptist Church to be proclaiming "Little Hope."
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Gregory GarceauGreg,
After I took the picture, I noticed the church is located on Little Hope Road.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 765 miles (1,231 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve H71Enjoying your trip reports
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
Thanks.
Some of them are getting kind of long. I had an English teacher once tell me it takes more work to make a composition short. Now I see her point.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
10 months ago