Day 59: Lydon River rest area to Minilya roadhouse - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 25, 2022

Day 59: Lydon River rest area to Minilya roadhouse

Start: 9:30 am
Distance: 34 km
Ride time: 2:01 hours
Average: 17 km/hr 
Max: 23km/hr
Finish: 12 pm

I slept a solid 12 hours last night. I must have been tired after yesterday's headwind. 

It was a quiet night with only a few other campers and the occasional vehicle travelling along the road.

Thankfully the wind today was less intense than yesterday.

The vegetation along the roadside today was grass with a few small trees.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is a meadow of pink flowers. The colour was brighter than the photo shows.
Heart 5 Comment 0

After a while I turned off the small road with no shoulder and onto the main road heading south.

North west coastal highway.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was relieved to have my own little cycle shoulder back. The extra foot width of road makes a difference.

I made it to the roadhouse with little difficulty and enquired about a campsite. There was a bit of a discussion and eventually I was allowed to stay.

They only have about 10 spots so I was lucky. They mainly cater for miners I think so there are lots of dongas. 

I have a plan of where I want to stay every night. This plan changes often depending on how far I can ride each day etc. Therefore I don't like booking too far ahead as it limits my freedom to alter the plan.

There was a water sprinkler on my campsite which I moved so I could erect my tent.

Shortly after lots of butterflies landed to have a drink.
Heart 9 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like Chequered Swallowtail (lime butterfly as you found.) Quite pretty!

https://inaturalist.ala.org.au/taxa/51583-Papilio-demoleus
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I think they are lime butterflies.

A couple helmeted guineafowl were roaming about.
Heart 5 Comment 0
And there was another blue tree.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The blue tree project is about supporting mental health. You can find out more by clicking here.

$30.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 km (21 miles)
Total: 3,473 km (2,157 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rich FrasierTranslation required: What’s a Donga?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
tony rockHi Vince. Great photos of the whale. I know how exciting that is as we spent many hours trying to photograph of a bee landing on a flower. Looks like an awesome trip. May the wind be at your back and the road rise with you. Tony & Sandra
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyA donga is a small transportable single room accommodation. Usually they're cheaply made and very basic.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago