Day 60: Minilya roadhouse to Yalabia rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 26, 2022

Day 60: Minilya roadhouse to Yalabia rest area

Start: 9:45 am
Distance: 51 km
Ride time: 2:26 hours
Average: 21 km/hr 
Max: 29km/hr
Finish: 12:40 pm

It was a noisy night because of the roadhouse generator. And the mine workers left early this morning.

Minilya River.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Morning road pic.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A barely perceptible tailwind.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It felt amazing not to have a headwind or a strong side wind. The terrain was flat. The temperature wasn't too hot. It was a pleasant day to cycle.

Red earth and blue sky.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I arrived at the rest area without much effort.

I spent the afternoon finishing my book. 

I recommend it.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rob and Suzie kindly made me a real coffee with snacks for afternoon tea.
Heart 6 Comment 0

They have both done a little bike touring. Suzie rode the Oodnadatta Track in her 80s.

She insisted on providing me with dinner tonight.

There were only a few people at this rest area in the evening. I needed to wash off the daily grime and there wasn't anywhere I could do it discreetly, so I just did it in the open.

Unfortunately for Suzie, this was just the time she was delivering my dinner. Luckily she didn't falter, saying she was a nurse and has 'seen plenty of naked behinds'. It was very funny.

This is the large, healthy and tasty free dinner I gratefully received.
Heart 9 Comment 0
Meet the very nice Rob and Suzie.
Heart 9 Comment 2
Veronica JoinerWhat lovely people.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Annie O'SheaThanks for providing my son with some great tucker, you wonderful people. Safe travels
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Suzie was happy to take my book which saves me from carrying it.

Other people at the rest area offered me water and beer which I declined. I would have accepted the beer but I have a big day tomorrow and I don't want to be seedy.

Free!
Heart 9 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 km (32 miles)
Total: 3,524 km (2,188 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Lednar De NallohI'm pretty sure Rob's in our cycling club, small world.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago