Introduction - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

Introduction

I’d like to begin by acknowledging the Traditional Owners of the land on which I will travel on this bike tour. I would also like to pay my respects to Elders past and present.

Hello to my cycle touring community.  

In 2020, I tried to ride around Australia. I did 1,000kms and then COVID arrived in Australia. Everything was uncertain at the time so I ended the ride and went home.

In 2021, I had another go. I did 7,000kms up the east coast of Australia to Cairns and then west to Darwin. I ended the ride in Katherine, mainly because the state of Western Australia closed its borders due to COVID.

You can read my journal from last year here. It was amazing.

Now in 2022, the state borders are all open. I will gleefully resume my ride from Katherine to complete my circumnavigation of Australia. 

This will be a gentle paced ride with plenty of stops for experiences. I’m looking forward to the calmness and simple life of being on the open road, enjoying the sights and sounds that this big country has to offer. 

I want to take the time to enjoy the landscapes and hopefully see lots of flora and fauna.  

I'm currently a little overweight again and only began training a few weeks ago. I’m sure I will lose weight and become fit on this tour. I can't wait.

I thank my lovely wife Serena for allowing me to attempt this ride for the third year in a row.

(I took the turtle photo on Lady Elliot Island last year)

 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Rich FrasierI loved following along on your last adventure, and I was sad when you had to abandon. It’s great that you’re starting again! I’m looking forward to your new adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Cheryl IvesLooking forward to your photos and experiences on this adventure Vince.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyTo Rich FrasierThank you Rich.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyTo Cheryl IvesThank you Cheryl. I'm excited.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Veronica JoinerLooking forward to the great photos and remembering our trip around Australia many years ago. Not on a bike.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jean-Marc StrydomHi Vince. You will only get this comment in two weeks time because I only picked up on your journal on the 7th of June. I loved your last one and was sad that you had to cut it short. Don't expect me to like and comment on your posts every day - I'm not that type of guy - but rest assured I will be reading them. Hope you have a good, safe and (importantly) enjoyable ride. Regards Jean-Marc (currently somewhere in Spain).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Jean-Marc.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago