Route - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

Route

Past and future attempts
Heart 4 Comment 0

In 2021, I started from home in Canberra. I went up the east coast to Cairns and then headed west to Darwin.

This year I'm starting in Katherine and continuing in an anticlockwise route.  I will be starting at the end of the wet season.  This should mean that the temperature will be cooler (although today it was 37 degrees Celsius in Katherine).  It should also mean that there will be water in the creeks and rivers, which I will need to rely on.

Another reason for starting the ride at this time is to travel across the Nullarbor (1,000kms) while the winds are predominantly westerly. 

Most of my cycling will be on bitumen roads. I am also happy to take dirt roads. Two challenging sections of this ride will be on dirt; the Gibb River Road, WA (650kms), and The Munda Biddi Trail, WA (1,000kms).

This trip will be about 10,000kms.  I will average about 65kms per day with lots of rest days.  Some days I will have to ride more than 100kms.  I will try to do all of my cycling before the heat of the afternoon arrives to avoid dehydration and heat exhaustion.

I expect this ride will take about 6 months which means I will be home on the first day of summer in Canberra.

I previous cycled around Tasmania in 2013 with Serena so I won't be going there this trip.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Annie O'SheaLots of luck I'm sure you'll do well
Reply to this comment
1 year ago