Day 58: Coral Bay to Lydon River rest area - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2022

Day 58: Coral Bay to Lydon River rest area

Start: 9:20 am
Distance: 68 km
Ride time: 4:58 hours
Average: 14 km/hr 
Max: 27 km/hr
Finish:  3:30 pm

It rained for a little while during the night again. I think it will rain more often as I get closer to Perth.

I don't care if it rains during the night. I don't like riding in the rain.

Here are some pics from the professional photographer (Aimee Nicholson-Jack) yesterday:

Me.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Manta ray.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Me.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Baby humpback.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Me.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I had another bakery breakfast after a late start.

Morning road pic.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The headwind continued today. It was hard cycling just to do 14km/hr. 

There were several little flower meadows.

This one was white in front and purple in the background.
Heart 6 Comment 0
A close up of the white flowers.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltNice! If only I could find identifications for all your nature discoveries. At least now & then I actually find some.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyI appreciate all your time and effort Bill.👍🏻
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

While I was riding, a vehicle stopped to say hello. It was the kind people that had given me some cold drinks on Day 22 at Adcock Gorge, on the Gibb River Road. 

We had a little catch up and then kept heading south. It's nice when I see people several times. It's like a nice surprise to meet them again.

Farewell to the tropics.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Lydon River is a dry swamp.
Heart 2 Comment 0

My original plan was to ride from Coral Bay to the next roadhouse a further 30kms down the road. This was too big a day with the headwind so I'll stay here.

There is no water here and I had planned for this. I set up camp and had a quick wash.

Then Jackie and Peter pulled in. They kindly made me a coffee and we shared a cake and had a little chat about our travels etc.

Free!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 3,439 km (2,136 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0