Day 56: Bullara Station to Coral Bay - A happy ride around Australia (third attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2022

Day 56: Bullara Station to Coral Bay

Start: 8:30 am
Distance: 74 km
Ride time: 4:46 hours
Average: 15 km/hr 
Max: 28 km/hr
Finish:  3pm

Yesterday evening after I climbed into my tent it started raining lightly for an hour. I enjoyed listening to the pitter patter on the tent.

This morning I packed up my stuff and went to make my porridge for breakfast. Unfortunately I had left my lighter outside and it got wet. It wouldn't even make a spark to light the metho. A silly mistake.

I went to the cafe for breakfast. 

Homemade sausage roll, scones, banana smoothie and a coffee. Breakfast of champions!
Heart 5 Comment 0
I'm still off the main hwy for a couple more days.
Heart 3 Comment 0
After a while I heard a bad noise.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It's my first flat this year. And the second for my around Australia trip.

A pair of tweezers had magically penetrated my rear tyre by an inch.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Annie O'Sheabugger what a bummer
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I had to use my pliers to pull it out. What bad luck, the tweezers must have been pointing up at an angle to go into my tyre.

Anyway I shouldn't complain. Two flats in 10,000+ kms is pretty good I reckon.

To remove the tyre I have to remove the Rohloff rear mech. It changes the gears. 

The big round screw is only done up finger tight without the use of a screwdriver.
Heart 3 Comment 0

The screw was already loose and would tighten up again. The thread must have worn away. I'm surprised the mech kept on working.

I secured it with a cable tie.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Carl OlsenCheck the bolt at the back the thumb screw attaches to. Mine comes loose and then there is not enough sticking through for the thumb screw to grab on to.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Carl. I'll check it out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

This means I will have to replace the cable tie everytime I remove the rear wheel. Hopefully I won't have to do it often.

This pretty flower shrub was next to where I stopped.
Heart 5 Comment 0
This is a sign of a strong headwind.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It persisted all day. It was annoying. The worst headwind of this trip.

This bush had lots of purple flowers.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like some kind of poison pea.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swainsona
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Bill.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Bill later identified this as a poison pea. Thanks Bill.

The scenery was mostly grass and termite mounds.
Heart 3 Comment 0
These are lots of Sturt desert peas.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 km (46 miles)
Total: 3,371 km (2,093 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0