The Plan - French Fling - CycleBlaze

The Plan

Such as it is

Al has been waffling.  Even though I gave him 5 years' warning about my impending retirement (and he could have retired last year), he's decided to continue working through June of this year so he can see some projects through.  However, the day after I bought my flights, he decided to come along for the first 3 weeks.  He has vacation time, after all.

We will fly to Paris and stay 2 nights at an airport hotel.  This gives us time to recover a bit from the inevitable jet lag of the 9-hour time change and means we will still be nearby if our bikes and other luggage don't arrive with us.  It happens.  A day in Paris will not be a day wasted!

We, accompanied by our still-encased bikes, will then take the TGV to Bordeaux.  Two nights there will allow time to assemble our bikes and see a bit of the city.  Apparently it's quite a nice place to visit.

Leaving our cases and my camping gear in Bordeaux, we will spend the next 2.5 weeks cycling through the Dordogne, Vézère, and Lot valleys, mostly following the route called "Caves, Cuisine, & Châteaux" in the Lonely Planet Cycling France guide.  In a departure from my usual vague plans, I've booked all our accommodation along this route and purchased tickets to Lascaux IV.  [I tried to also purchase tickets to the prehistoric cave sites near Les Eyzies (a limited number of which were available online according to the English version of the web page) only to learn that tickets are now available only on the day, maybe, a fact only publicized on the French version of the web page, along with the other fact that the sites are closed on Saturdays (also not indicated in English).  Being me, I contacted them to learn which was correct--French of course--and suggested that they update the English web page.]

After returning to Bordeaux, Al will take the train back to Paris and his flight home.  He'll also take my bike case to leave at the airport hotel for me to collect for my flight home 6 weeks later.

The trip now returns to ideas rather than plans.  The general idea is to ride out to the Atlantic coast (east or west side of the Gironde?) and north  to Nantes or St-Nazaire.  Then a loop around the coast and through the middle of Brittany (clockwise?  counterclockwise?) with perhaps a side trip to Mont St-Michel.  How long would all this take?  No idea.

To be updated!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 10
Gregory GarceauHi Jacquie,
I like the non-planning-style of your planning. That's kind of how I do things too, so I'm looking forward to seeing where you end up riding in the land of my ancestors--even though I never knew any of my ancestors who actually lived there.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetMy ancestors too. They were Acadian so likely came from Brittany or Normandy. All I really know is they ended up in Prince Edward Island after the Expulsion.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Gregory GarceauTo Jacquie GaudetI do know my ancestors came to the U.S. by way of Canada but I don't know if they were Acadian. Given my love of Cajun food, I'd like to think they were.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauOne’s ancestry unlocks the key to one’s stomach? That explains so much, but it never occurred to me before. Anderson is a very common Italian name, or so I’m told.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Scott AndersonI’ll really enjoy following along on this, Jacquie. The first half will be reminiscence for us - the Dordogne and Lot are one of our favorite regions in France ( but there are so many - what an amazing country for cycle touring), and we really liked biking north along the Atlantic. We’ve never been to Brittany or Normandy though, and keep talking about when we should go there.

We started and ended a tour in Bordeaux 12 years ago (and yes, Bordeaux is easily worth an extra day). Going north to the Loire we went up the east side of the Gironde, along the Charente through Angouleme, Cognac, Saintes, Saint Georges de Didonne, and La Rochelle. All great. Don’t miss Ile de Re.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonI have Île de Ré noted but I hadn’t noticed Cognac when looking at the map. I had thought of following the shoreline but maybe not... Great suggestion!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bruce LellmanWhen Scott says, "....worth an extra day" that actually means several extra days. But that's me. I like going slowly and not planning where I'm going to sleep. If you are camping you can more easily not plan in Europe I think. But I've never toured there.

I'm looking forward to following your adventure.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Bruce LellmanAnd I'm hoping my writing is as evocative as yours!

Thanks to Scott's comment, I am planning to go through Cognac on my way north--unless I change my mind and go a different way.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Bruce LellmanThank you, Jacquie. The stories/writing is easier having been to the places many times for 45 years.

Scott is a great source for information on France and many parts of Europe. His journals are very informative.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Bruce LellmanAgreed! I based my 2016 Pyrenees trip on Scott's journal and in 2017, when Al and I were following the Andersons' French Alps route (sadly only the first half due to time constraints), we met someone else doing the same thing on a recumbent trike and there were two other couples from BC doing the same thing. We didn't meet them; I saw their journals online.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago