Introduction - French Fling - CycleBlaze

March 1, 2019

Introduction

In 2013 I bought a carbon road bike.  That's not exciting in itself, but for me it was a revelation:  my old touring bike really, really, didn't fit.  I decided that I would replace it (the touring bike) before I retired because I was planning to do a lot of touring when that time came.

In March of 2014, I had a slow twisting fall skiing in heavy snow and my binding didn't release.  I got up but could not put any weight on my right leg without it collapsing.  The diagnosis was a "Maisonneuve fracture".  A surgical repair to my ankle followed by several weeks of no loadbearing whatsoever would lead to a full recovery.  It did, but all those weeks of sitting around meant a lot of time surfing the net (when I wasn't working--I didn't miss a day of work since the accident happened during term break).  I decided to get my retirement bike 5 years early.  A custom-sized Co-Motion Pangea was mine that June.  Of course, I wasn't ready to do a big trip that year so I did several small ones, including my first solo trips.  Bigger trips followed in 2015, 2016, and 2017.  Work was too busy in 2018 to really go anywhere but the light was there at the end of the year. 

I started the year with a bang!  Actually, it was a minor pop, but it was my ACL.  Not a full tear, but enough to end my ski season almost before it started.  After seeing my physio, I set up my carbon bike on the trainer I'd bought in 2014 after my previous injury and have been spending an hour a day riding in our dining room.  After much reassurance from my physio, I bought a return ticket to Paris!

France was only one from my long list of destinations but it seems the best one for this trip for several reasons:

  • I'll be doing (most) of the trip solo and France is great for that.
  • My knee might not be ready for hauling a loaded bike up a mountain this year so I'll have to save those trips for later.
  • I've ordered a fully-custom titanium touring bike but won't have it until the end of 2019 or early 2020.  I considered this back in 2014 but was put off by the wait time. Now, I have a very comfortable bike to ride but it's really overkill for me.  I'm not very big and, along with all the gear I can carry, probably weigh less than many riders alone.  I look forward to using the new bike for the Dolomites in 2019.

This is my first time journaling on this site and I've learned something already: I need more photos!  First thing will be a pano for the title page that is more related to this trip.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Patrick O'HaraHi Jacquie.
It's Patrick and Susanna writing from Vancouver BC. We corresponded a couple of years ago around our French Alps trips in 2017. Seems wherever I go, I end up seeing the same names...The Andersons, Grampies, The Klassens and you both.

Glad to see you are off on another trip. Looking forward to reading your blog. Sue and I are still on CGOAB and went to the Pyrenees last year....Again inspired by The Andersons.

Happy retirement. Looking forward to reading. Perhaps for our next trip we will post here.

Patrick
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraHi Patrick and Susanna

I remember you and I followed along on your blog last year. I had to tour vicariously then but hope to make up for that going forward. I'm feeling brave for this one, creating my own route after the first three weeks.

I'm going to try to journal on both sites though one may get priority--whichever proves easiest to upload photos. I write using the Notes app on my iPad then copy/paste so the words part should be easy.

Jacquie
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Patrick O'HaraHi Jacquie.

Getting nearer to departure now for you.
Sue and I have been interested in the Lot and Tarn for a few years as well. I can't wait to follow along.
We cycled from Bordeaux to Brive along the Dordogne in 2014 as part of our France coastal trip in 2014. This is a beautiful region, as I'm sure your research has indicated. Excellent food too!
Happy packing and bon voyage.

Patrick and Susanna
Reply to this comment
4 years ago