Evolving Ideas - French Fling - CycleBlaze

Evolving Ideas

The snow and rain outside means I'm riding inside most days.  It's not supposed to be like this, here in Vancouver in March.  The good thing is I can only stand an hour, sometimes two, of that and then I have the rest of the day to do other things, like research and plan the rest of my trip.

I read through some guidebooks and other cyclists' journals and flagged the places I'd like to see.  Next was connect-the-dots on a map.  Then I noted on a calendar what each days' potential destination could be.  While I was at it, I booked a chambre d'hôte in La Rochelle so I could explore the city and a couple of nearby places on an unloaded bike.

I was surprised to see that my convoluted route might finish in Vannes on June 23, leaving me 5 days to get to Paris, less any unscheduled layover days.  I think that's just about the right amount of slack for six weeks of touring.  The Loire à Vélo will have to wait for another trip.

Six weeks to departure!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Scott AndersonWatch out, Jacquie. You’re standing upon a pretty slippery slope here. If you book La Rochelle, you might as well pick your next stop too. Hard to know when to stop.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago