Reviewing all those photos... - French Fling - CycleBlaze

Reviewing all those photos...

Something to do on rainy winter days

I learned to how to process raw photo files in the months before I left on this trip.  More accurately, I started to learn how to use Lightroom.  I wasn't yet convinced, though, and didn't see the point in subscribing to the Adobe Photography plan when I was going to be on the road for two months.  I did, however, take all my photos in raw instead of jpg.

Testing at home, it seemed to work well enough to copy the files to Photos on my iPad MIni and then insert them in the journal.  I discovered under real travel conditions that this process was very dependent on fast wifi or a very strong Internet connection (since I had lots of data).  I finally bought a file-size-reducing app to speed things along.  I could have saved my photos also as small jpgs in camera, but that goes against my grain.

So I posted photos on the road as processed by Apple Photos and they were okay, for the most part.  However, I've been continuing with my photography education and couldn't let them remain as posted with crooked horizons, wonky perspective or colour, blown out highlights or detail-less shadows when I could fix them and practice what I've been learning.  I've just finished reposting almost all of them that were taken with my camera and adding a few more that were quite bad before processing.  I also added some taken by Al once he figured out how to share them with me--tricky since they were taken with his work phone which he had to turn in when he retired just before I got home.

I even took the opportunity to fix a couple of photos with Photoshop by removing intrusive powerlines.

The downside is that any "likes" attached to the original photos are now gone, though Jeff A will move the comments to the new version.  I still feel better about the improved versions being out there for posterity.

For my next trip, I'll be using Lightroom on my iPad Mini.  Yes, I've now subscribed and the subscription includes the mobile version.  I just need to learn how to use it.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Lyle McLeodHi Jacque,
We’re planning on riding some of the gorges starting in April. I’ve been going through your journal and taking notes (and copying gpx tracks 🙏). I’m quite interested to find out more about the file size reduction app you’ve mentioned above. I too am loathe to shoot in anything less than my camera is capable of (OMD-5 II) but for website uploads, smaller files are really good. I’d be grateful if you could pass on some info on the app. You must be getting excited about your upcoming trip. Sicily is on our radar but France and Spain (well the Pyrenees, maybe not full on Spain) won out this year.
Rgds,
Lyle
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Lyle McLeodHi Lyle
I'm planning a trip to France for the fall, lots of gorges to ride! Probably solo.
With respect to processing photos, I now have an Adobe Photography subscription and have used the mobile version of Lightroom on my last two trips to process my photos and export jpg files (I shoot in RAW). My little iPad Mini doesn't have the power to run Photoshop so no major edits on tour even if I were tempted to do so.
On this 2019 trip, I used something called Batch Image Resize developed by Heng Jia Liang. Its icon is blue and white with a logo of a couple of mountain peaks and the top right corner clipped and it's still available on the App Store, though there might be some newer apps available now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Lyle McLeodI forgot to say--have a fantastic trip!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago