It's decided: my favorite section of The Loop is Harrison Greenway - Forty Two Miles A Day And Going Nowhere. - CycleBlaze

December 30, 2020

It's decided: my favorite section of The Loop is Harrison Greenway

It might be chilly in Tucson, but it’s downright cold at home!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Eric kindly turned around and rode on the one bike at a time connector so this tourist could have a photo. I had seen Eric and his wife four times this trip. They are distinctive for having American flags on their bikes. Eric also has a Biden flag.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Harrison Greenway with cacti is my favorite piece of the loop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This must be an organized something? The sign was not there the last time I rode past.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the hand cycles. Note how low his head is. He had even more trouble than I did going around corners because his legs were way out front.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Looking at the map, do you see the long straightaway on the right? That's the Harrison Greenway. I've decided it's my favorite part of the loop because it has a little climb (which means a great descent going the opposite direction), it has a variety of cacti, and there aren't too many people/bikes. 

Jacinto was surprised I headed that direction again - but, I get to ride where I want as long as I get my miles in. His sad story is that he loaded the bike and went to ride Kitt Peak, only to discover the road is closed. Snow? Instead he has parked on Mission Road somewhere and is riding to Green Valley and back. His window to ride Kitt Peak and Mt Lemonn may have closed. At first it seemed like we had all of the time in the world and now our days are quickly counting down.

It was quite chilly when I left. I had on ear warmers and a vest. The vest came off after about an hour, I was sweaty underneath and ended up chilly until my shirt dried. I should give my shirt a shout out. It's a Mountain Hardware brand, Ghee style. The fabric is amazingly stretchy and wicks the sweat in no time. I've worn mine every day for almost two weeks, washing it out in the sink. It still looks great. 

Leaving early on a cold morning means there isn't much people/bike watching to be done. I've been meaning to mention the lack of handlebar bags. Are they totally out of style? When I rode a diamond frame bike, I loved my handlebar bag for convenience. I just had to be careful not to put too much weight in it. I have seen exactly three such bags this entire trip. They were all small, round bags and appeared to be from the same manufacturer, either yellow or orange. I had a big Cannondale bag with a map holder on top. It was great.

Something else I saw today was a man riding with toe clips who had a tool bag (?) tied in the V of the seat stays down low near the rear tire. It didn't look like a very good spot to me. The bag looked like an older, canvas wrap type style bag. Retro looking. He also rode with toe clips. You don't see those often anymore. 

At first I thought today was going to be a low count day for interesting rides. In the first hour I saw one trike, one Elliptigo, and one two wheeled recumbent. Then things got more interesting. I saw a fellow skating racer style, bent over down low with his hands behind his back. He was taking very deliberate strides and going slowly, but his position looked go fast, with the bent over posture. 

I didn't see any dog/bike combos. One Bike Friday. The first couple of days I saw 4-6 BF's a day. I wonder if they were people vacationing and they've since gone home? No tandems today. In the end I saw 8-10 trikes. I saw two hand cycles. Not together. Three Elliptigos. Not together. Two younger women on old fashioned roller skates. 

So, although the path might be something I've ridden before, I've been seeing new sights. I saw a coyote on the path today. It was rather startling. I presume he could hear me coming because I play music on my phone. But he continued walking to the path and stopped on the center line as I rode past. I could see him in my rearview mirror. He didn't continue on, but stayed on the center line, watching me ride away. It was odd to me that he was so comfortable in my presence. Maybe the coyotes here are more socialized that the ones in rural Colorado.

I had a good ride today. I did the minimum miles as it wasn't the best of Tucson's riding conditions, although certainly better than the temperatures back home!

Jacinto didn't start riding until 1 PM and had a 50 mile route worked out. I wonder if he will be back to the van by dark. He does have two blinky lights and a flashlight he could use as a headlight . .  . he said he would turn around if he thought he'd be after dark.

That's my day. There's one more day left in the year. For me, the year is going out on a high note with all of this riding. I will get one ride in 2021 before we head back home. 

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 568 miles (914 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 4
jerry witherspoonThink of ole spoon as that coyote; standing on the centerline as you ride on.

spoon
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonThat’s so great about the coyote. I saw one crossing the bike path just in front of me along the Santa Cruz last time we were down here. He stood still watching me, half his body through the side railing, and then slipped down into the wash.

That’s a shame about Jacinto and Kitt Peak. I wonder if it is closed for snow or ice. Good to know - I’ve been considering driving out there myself.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezWe didn't consider it necessary in advance to do a google search. However, NOW I am checking. They closed on March 19th, with a gate across the road - no access by foot, bicycle, or motor vehicle. No word on when they will open.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Steve McallisterMany of the coyotes here are like stray dogs. They are relaxed around people and some will even beg for food. The gas station in the town of "Why" has a "Please do not feed the coyotes" sign. And the coyotes there will come right up to you while you are pumping gas and be all cute.
There are couple coyotes that hang out in the cemetery across from me. They have come to know me since I shout out to them when I ride by. They will sometimes run along side me in a friendly matter when I ride by.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago