Day 7: just because the weather forecaster says, “0% chance of rain” - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 12, 2019

Day 7: just because the weather forecaster says, “0% chance of rain”

...don’t mean sh**

The weather forecast said about the rain, “don’t worry”; so I chose to check out of my hotel room in a hurry; but when my train ticket is paid, the train gets delayed; and when I step off the rain’s blowing in a flurry. 

The best word I can describe today is annoying. I didn’t get bit by a dog so that’s a good thing. I want to complain but overall I don’t want to be a complainer. It’s not like I had to beg for food or anything - there are people who are a lot worse off than to be on a vacation and doing nothing but riding a bike from point A to point B. Still, I wanted today to be a somewhat dry day after wet days since Thursday. 

So, I checked out of my Boston sanctuary hotel (and a dry room) and headed off to the transit station. It was so rainy I even skipped dinner out last night and had a sandwich and a glass of wine at the bar (Ok, two glasses). OK, OK, OK, three glasses and that’s my story. So when I headed out into the wet windy streets this morning I thought that was the end of it. The nor’Easter had blown out to sea. Maybe in Boston but not in Plymouth. 

I make it into the station well before my departure time. When they were ready to announce my track it was a “delayed “ announcement instead. A little over 60 minute’s worth due to a tree fallen on the line (you know, because of the STORM)
Heart 0 Comment 0

So the train leaves a little over 60 minutes later than the scheduled 8:30 departure time. We make our way towards Plymouth and I watch the rain careen off the train windows. This is not good.  I was calculating on breezy but dry weather. And now this. Maybe I should have expected it given the nature of this tour.  C’est la vie (or as the French say, “That’s life”). When the train arrived in Plymouth the wind was blowing and the rain was coming down and I thought, “Screw it! Let’s move. It can’t be raining the WHOLE way to New Bedford...”

10:00am - standing with my bike on a commuter train to Plymouth.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So of course it rains all the way into fairhaven, right across the river from New Bedford, when it stops. Well, truth be told, the rain stopped but the streets were still wet about 2 miles out of Fairhaven. I rolled in and did a load of laundry while waiting for my room to be ready. Then I phoned the campground tomorrow night and canceled my reservation. Everything is wet and it’s supposed to pour Sunday night into Monday meaning I will get soaked again. And packing up a wet tent on a wet bike while it’s pouring is not fun.

Got my laundry taken care of. Just for fun I threw my shoes in with my riding kit. They still stink, even after the wash. Time for some more serious odor warfare
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltFoot odor:

https://www.smellyfeetcures.com/boric-acid-foot-shoe-odor/
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Paul MulveyTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks, Bill. I’m going to check that out. Probably better then a Thermonuclear explosion.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago

After a shower and a dryer session (for the clothes - I didn’t get into the dryer) I headed into New Bedford to the historic section and the whaling museum. This was a stop on my tour so I’m glad I was able to do it AND it wasn’t rained out.

The historic section is part of a 1980’s development improvement project. It’s been restored to what it looked like in the mid-1800’s
Heart 0 Comment 0
These were called, “ghost whales.” I thought they were wicked cool (guess I’ve picked up a Boston accent)
Heart 0 Comment 0
The main hall. The big skeleton is a blue whale, and the cool thing about it is it’s still leaking whale oil, and will continue to do so until around 2060
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking over the town and harbor from the observation deck of the whaling museum
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ha! I thought I’d try my hand at piloting a boat instead of a bike
Heart 0 Comment 0
The trees leaves are turning with the impending autumn season
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a 45-minute tour in the museum (they closed at 4:00 on saturdays) I went in search of dinner, was successful, and then walked the 2- miles back to my motel. Walking across the harbor you can tell it’s still a busy commercial port city. The fishing vessels in the harbor were evident of that.

Commercial fishing vessels in New Bedford harbor
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow’s another day. I plan a long ride since it looks like there might be sun and the temp will be high-60’s. Best to put in a long day before another day of rain on Monday. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 277 miles (446 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0