Day 6: Catching up on binge watching The Office - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 11, 2019

Day 6: Catching up on binge watching The Office

...while riding out the nor’easter inBoston

With the wind and rain this storm inflicts; I still have a few more tricks; morning was a walk; among the city’s historic block; and the afternoon? binge watching The Office on Netflix. 

Today was not what I intended it but it did hold some surprises. I did some activities today I have not done before. So for that reason it was a success. And beforehand I post pictures of my 10-mile “urban hike” I will say I would rather have cycled along the Cape, but I think I dodged something very unpleasant on the Cap with this storm parked off the coast.

I started by leaving the hotel at 6:30 in the morning as the sun was rising, and going to the coffee shop next door. Door locked - they open at 7:00. “Forget it”, I say (to keep this G-rated - I actually said the other word). I went to Starbucks in town which was open and planned my day. I would walk a bunch and then plan my revised trip at a public library where I could access a desktop.

I made a few friends who “quacked” me up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chinese gate in Chinatown (where else would it be?)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sunflower castle. This is a museum but it wasn’t opened as I passed
Heart 0 Comment 0

From there, I made my way to Charlestown, and found the branch of the public library of Boston. I planned my route for tomorrow (spoiler alert - I plan to take the commuter rail to Plymouth and pick up my bike tour in New Bedford) and then hiked to the top of the bunker hill monument. There were screens at the top of the 294 stairs, and it was WINDY at the top, even inside. The rain had not started but the winds certainly had. The views were good, even if they were a bit grey.

Boston skyline from the bunker hill monument. Skies were still grey
Heart 0 Comment 0
The harbor from the monument. You can see the USS Constitution on the far right, and just to the left of that, the USS Cassin Young, a WWII destroyer. The Constitution was closed today because of weather but the destroyer was open
Heart 0 Comment 0

I walked along the harbor on the way back to the North end and the freedom rail. And that’s when the rain started drizzling. I’m still good, not wet enough to take an über. I trek through the North End and the Italian section and find my way to Fanueil Hall, but only stay for a few minutes before heading due south for the hotel. At this stage, the rain had picked up a bit more and I’m ready to call it quits on the day. I had my sightseeing tour by foot (21,975 steps according to my FitBit) and was ready to hibernate in my room for the afternoon.

The “spite house” is 10’ wide and was built by a brother who discovered his brother had built on more than 50%of the property their father left them. So, even though it’s very thin, it was built to block his brother’s view, or, in spite....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mamma Maria’s, in the middle of North End
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the old section of Boston
Heart 0 Comment 0

After that, I went back to the room, hung the “do not disturb” sign on the door, and fired up Netflix. There’s a lot of The Office I needed to catch up on. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 243 miles (391 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0