Two months out - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2019

Two months out

It's been too many months since my last tour
and not touring has really been a bore
so to no longer abstain
I planned a route in Maine
and now I have to get my butt out the door

BAM! There it is. I'm booked for my fall bicycle tour. Bar Harbor to Philadelphia loosely following the East Coast Greenway. The ECG is a project that the folks over at the website have been mapping out for several years. The goal is to have a carless path all the way from the tip of Maine to the tip of Florida. It's years in the making but there are many complete sections. And those that are not are routed on the road. But who cares? I get to ride for 12 straight days.

Route

This is a pretty-close route I'm taking, leaving from Bar Harbor in Maine, hugging the coast as I reach New Hampshire, and then a long day into the center of Boston. From there, I catch the ferry to Cape Cod, cycling around the cape, then due west through New Bedford, Providence, Hartford, onto Danbury. 10 Miles outside Danbury I catch a bite path which goes all the way into Manhattan and Penn Station where I'll catch a train to East Brunswick and pick up the D&R canal. Then, I have a sleeper car on the Amtrak home.

Heart 0 Comment 0

The Bike

I'm taking my Niner RLT9 on this trip, as I've found the bike to be the ultimate touring machine. This is the first trip I'm going on tubeless tires and so far I'm loving the ride. The fact they're 700x38 also makes them a more comfortable ride. I'm also running a 1x11 setup on the gearing, 30T up front and 13-42 in the rear. Not a lot of top end (since I'm not racing the Tour de France) and ~18 gear-inch low end.

The bike, all loaded up. Shelter in the dry bag hanging on the aero bars; kitchen, food, camping supplies in the fork bags, 2-liter water, raingear, jackets, electronics frame bags; clothing and quilts in the seat bag. Oh, and the toolkit attached to the downtube water bottle cage? A recycled peanut butter container.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0