Day 8: Mr. Blue Sky returns - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 13, 2019

Day 8: Mr. Blue Sky returns

“Hey, there, Mr. Blue, it’s so great to be with you. Look around see what you do. Everybody smiles at you” - ELO

Today was such a change from the past few days. The sun came out. The temperature went to 70. And I was able to put on some some good mileage to set myself up for tomorrow since rain is in the forecast in the morning. It was such a good day I’m not even going to talk about that headwind. 

I went to Dartmouth. Well, not as a student. And I didn’t earn a degree there, but still....
Heart 0 Comment 0

5 miles into the day I hear a tapping from the rear wheel. I stop, check the wheel and see a nice rusty nail embedded into the tire. I perform a nail-endectomy and the tire started hissing, losing air to the breach. I spin the wheel to get the latex fluid into the hole. I spin the wheel and the tire starts spraying the white fluid over the road. Still spewing. The tire is losing lots of air. I start pumping and keep pumping and pumping and pumping until the fluid does it’s magic and starts sealing the hole. With my arm tired from pumping, I’m happy the tubeless setup has worked

A call pond on the side of the road Sunday morning
Heart 0 Comment 0

10:00am I roll through Fall River and a lot of military (naval) hardware at battleship cove. These warships were something. I decided to skip the tour since I’ve been on countless WWII vessels and I wanted to ride a good bit to get though providence and into Moosup   

10:00am. Portuguese gate in Fall River
Heart 0 Comment 0
Battleship cove. There is some serious military hardware here. Oh, and how about that blue sky?
Heart 0 Comment 0

In another hour I crossed the state line into Rhode Island. Then I found my way to the east bay bike path, where MANY riders were taking advantage of the nice Sunday to get out and exercise. The path wound its way all the way along the river and into the city. From there i snaked my way through the city and out onto the other side on another recreational path, the secondary bike trail

Along the east bay bike path and an old rail station now converted to a coffee shop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bay to the left, pond to the right
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downtown providence, RI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Since I had no place to stay tonight I decided to make a commitment. It was around 1:30 and I had about 58 miles completed. I looked up the distance to Moosup and it was 28 miles. No problem. So I booked the Knights Inn in Moosup and resumed spinning the pedals. 

Trestle on the bike trail
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 3:00 I get detoured off the trail because a bridge is out. So I follow the detour and make my way to the roads of Rhode Island. The sun is starting to move lower to the horizon casting light through the turning foliage. My legs are tired and I’m thinking about getting a cheesesteak and fries as I ride to the hotel but even that doesn’t distract me from enjoying the scenery. 3:50 I cross into Connecticut, completing the entire state of Rhode Island (to be honest it IS the smallest of the United States)

The roads along the detour were very scenic with the turning foliage
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, I did get my cheesesteak and fries, and rode the mile to the motel, and then refueled, showered, and got onto this journal. 

“Mr. Blue, you did it right. But soon comes Mr. night. Creeping over, now his hand is on your shoulder. Never mind, I’ll remember you this...I’ll remember you this way”

Heart 0 Comment 0


Today's ride: 79 miles (127 km)
Total: 356 miles (573 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0