Day 9: I think I’ve regained my bike tour mojo - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 14, 2019

Day 9: I think I’ve regained my bike tour mojo

Yep - definitely have

Looked into the sky and don’t you know; it’s not raining a second day in a row;   So now I feel like; hopping on my bike; and getting a breakfast sandwich next door at the gas-n-go

Silly me, I thought the motel had breakfast, but the lights were dark at 7:30am so I hit google maps and find out there’s a breakfast place next door at the Valero gas station. Since I had on all the riding gear (and it was 47 and I was in shorts) they engaged me in conversation and were all excited about my ride. At that point I started the roller coaster ride to the hop river trail.

The morning headed westward through the Connecticut roller coaster
Heart 0 Comment 0

10:00am and I roll into this tiny hamlet to take a picture of a church and a mini van rolls up and asks where I’m from (well, actually, the driver does, not the car). We have a great chat for 15 minutes and she takes a “dualie” of us. Turns out she’s a former marathoner who holds 16 USA marathon records and several world records. Also, she was the first woman marathoners signed to a pro contract in 1979. If she had not stopped I never would have found that out, nor would I have her take a picture of us

The church in Scotland (no, not THAT Scotland - this one is in Connecticut)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shooting a picture when Patti pulls up and starts chatting with me
Heart 0 Comment 0
Patti and me!
Heart 0 Comment 0

From there, I make my way to Willimantic and see frogs on the bridge (no, haven’t been drinking or had too many Red Bulls)

Each of the four pillars of the bridge have frogs sitting on spools of threads. This town I’d supposedly known for the thread mills. The frog? No clue.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then it’s on to the airline trail for a few miles until it intersects with the hop river trail. Then it’s a slow, steady 1% climb to Hartford. On the way I pass a railroad museum (open only on weekends) so. I pass by. But get a good shot of Homer Simpson on a freight car outside the museum.

“Doh!” - Homer Simpson
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Hop River Trail is in very good condition all the way from Willimantic to Hartford. It’s crushed gravel/limestone on clay, very smooth, and easy rolling. The foliage at this time of year was bright, colorful, and a pleasure to ride through. On the trail, I think I regained my “mojo” on the bike tour. I was down on myself because of the weather but I think I’m ready to get back into it. It’s at least one more day at this point before rain returns to the forecast. So I’m ready to get back into it. 52 miles today and I enjoyed it. 

Riding along the Hop River Trail at peak foliage
Heart 0 Comment 0
Charter Oak Greenway. This is part of the East Coast Greenway - paved and runs parallel to 384 for much of its length. This was a nice serpentine downhill section
Heart 0 Comment 0

My route went right through the Pratt & Whitney campus as it made its way to Hartford. I approached a guard booth on the route and stopped to talk to the guard who asked if I was. P&W employee. I briefly thought about telling a story, but went with the truth - Google maps routed me this way, and could I pass. He waved me through “this time” but said I would have to b employed to come through again. Thankfully, I don’t plan on this route again otherwise I’d have to go through and get an interview. 

Just before getting into Hartford I had to reach to bridge, the route took me to the bottom of a huge set of stairs which I climbed to get to the bridge deck - good thing I don’t overpack my bike

To get to the city; this climb to the bridge was not itty-bitty; I started fearing; this wonder of engineering; and felt sure this route was designed by committee
Heart 0 Comment 0
Once I was on the west side of the river the trail wasn’t too bad.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I checked in to the Red Lion (best rate in Hartford) - they were pretty much empty. Front desk seemed like it was an effort to check me in. Whatever.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 408 miles (657 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0