Different, Dark, Dysfunctional, Disappointing - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

December 12, 2022

Different, Dark, Dysfunctional, Disappointing

One More Day

Heart 0 Comment 0

I made it home yesterday afternoon, but that was never intended to be the end of my mini-tour.  From the beginning, I planned to head out again, eastward to Wisconsin, unloaded, for another day of wintertime riding.  My thought was to compare and contrast Minnesota's winter vis a vis Wisconsin's winter.  I like to think of this page as "bonus coverage."  Negativists might like to think of it as "egotistical blogging overload."  That's okay.

So I headed off into my own egotistical world.  It was another gray day, with temperatures in the 29-to-34-degree range.  According to the unreliable weather forecasters, this will be the last moderate day before four consecutive days of rain, snow, and slush.  "Where was that stuff when I needed it to enhance my journal?"  I thought to myself.

The first picture-worthy thing I came across was this scene of ice fishermen and their ice shacks on Lake Rebecca.  Personally, I can't think of a more boring sport in this world than ice fishing. 

  

I wonder if they look at me riding up to this viewpoint and think, "I can't imagine a more boring sport than riding a bike."
Heart 6 Comment 0
More of Lake Rebecca. I guess this isn't the part of the lake where people are catching fish.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I have to cross that bridge to get to Wisconsin.
Heart 1 Comment 0
You know it's December when this local restaurant puts out these outdoor dining pods. (Shameless name-drop coming next: The Feeshko and I had dinner with Scott & Rocky Anderson at this restaurant when the weather was very hot and there was no need for freaky, alien space capsules.)
Heart 5 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThat’s the place? Somehow it doesn’t look quite as inviting.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonIt looks inviting to me. I've always wanted to eat in a tiny plastic igloo.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

There is a nice bike path on the Highway 61 bridge.  It is separated from the very busy auto traffic lanes.  The path isn't always plowed, but today it was.  Unfortunately, that wasn't the case after the trail turned east toward Prescott, Wisconsin.  It was pretty challenging from the outset, but I persevered, reminding myself that I'm a Tough Guy, and optimistically thinking it would get better soon.  

It didn't.  It only got worse.  

I plowed through this area without incident, so I made a video of my bravery.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I titled that video "The Impossible Trail," but it probably wouldn't be impossible if I had one of those fat tire bikes.  

"I don't need one of those bulky things," I've always thought.  "I've always gotten by just fine with The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong, my powerful legs, and my relentless determination."

After another few hundred yards, I reluctantly determined The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong, my powerful legs, and my relentless determination were no match for the ice and snow on this trail on this day.

I never thought I'd have to resort to this.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Mark BinghamI've gotta say... you kinda look like a Tough Guy with that bike slung over your shoulder like that.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Mark BinghamI've always preferred carrying my bike that way vs. wheeling it. For sure, it's easier to carry it on your shoulder in deep snow.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

In my defense, I only resorted to carrying my bike after taking a fall.  I wasn't hurt, but I was convinced I could never ride another three miles to Wisconsin in these conditions.   I turned back, alternately riding, pushing and carrying my bike.

************ 

As I'm writing this, I just remembered an article I wrote about a season of wintertime bicycling a few years ago.  It was published on another touring website.  I kind of wished I had saved that article before I was told to leave that website but, alas, I didn't.

Today's fall reminded me of one of my favorite chapters of the article.  It was titled "Anatomy of a Fall."  In that chapter, I described in great detail (for me) what it was like to be blissfully riding totally upright on my bike, hit a patch of black ice, and crash onto a busy street--all withing a micro-second.  There was no time to react.  There was no time to extend a foot to ease the fall.  There was no time to think about my life flashing before my eyes.  There wasn't even time to accept that hitting the ground was an inevitability.  I was up, then I was down, and that was it.

I don't know how I did it, but within the space of a micro-second, I instinctively stretched my arms and took the brunt of my fall on my left forearm.  I like to think it was the same instinct that has helped me to have never suffered a head trauma after any of my many wintertime crashes.

After that crash, I remember picking myself and my bike off the road, looking around to see how many people saw my embarrassing fall, rubbing my sore elbow, and pedaling onward. 

I don't have the article anymore, but I've still got the picture of my forearm.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's crash was a little different.  I didn't fall immediately to the ground.  I wobbled crazily, not knowing exactly which foot to put down to prevent a fall.  I went down pretty fast though.  At least I wasn't embarrassed--there were no witnesses anywhere in the area.

************  

For those readers who continued reading this only to learn about the differences between Minnesota and Wisconsin winters . . . I assure you, without photographic evidence, THEY ARE EXACTLY THE SAME.  Trust me.

Still, my failed ride to Wisconsin was an ignominious defeat.  I suppose, once I got my bike back to Highway 61, I COULD have ridden to Wisconsin via the hilly roads.  But I felt like I had expended too much energy slipping, sliding, pushing, carrying, power-pedaling, and whining.

Plan B was to ride back to MY Town and look around for some interesting Christmas decorations.  Nothing caught my eye though, so I settled for a couple pictures of snowmen.

Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0

Wrapping Up the December Mini-Tour

As you've been able to surmise, I'm kind of proud of my state's winters.  In fact, I'm proud to live in a state with four very distinct seasons:   Windy and rainy springs, hot and humid summers, cold and crisp autumns, and freezing, snowy winters.  Ahhh, paradise. 

As always, I had fun on this mini-tour.  I also get much satisfaction from the belief that thousands of bike tourists will be inspired to ride to Eagan, based on my fine example.

Before I close, I'd like to thank my co-stars--The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong, G-2, and Snowboy for their excellent performances.  Most of all, I want to thank you for reading.  Tomorrow, I will wrap up this journal with a Grand Sweeping Conclusion.

Today's ride: 10 miles (16 km)
Total: 622 miles (1,001 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Rich FrasierAs a kid who grew up in Southern California, I always suspected that Wisconsin and Minnesota were actually the same place. Thanks for the additional evidence.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonI remember that former article on that former site. It reminds me of a time in West Lafayette when I used to bike to my job in the warehouse of an electronics factory. It was the same thing - one instant I’m up, and a split nanosecond I was on the ground, amazed that the bike could slip sideways so fast.

Sorry to see this brilliant journal come to an end. You could go into overtime, and try to make it into Wisconsin in January.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich FrasierThat's pretty true, Rich. You could even throw the Upper Peninsula of Michigan in there too.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergI guess ice fishing is a good sport if you like to drink your beer while actually doing your sport rather than waiting until after. Maybe that alleviates the boredom factor.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bob DistelbergYup, from what I've seen, they all seem to have their beer (or brandy or whiskey) to ease the pain of sitting over a hole in the ice for hour after hour.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpWhat a nice mini-tour to wrap up the 2022 series. I think you had a nice combination of crap factors to make it a challenge - many different crap surfaces and several crap forms of precip - and worth the ride. I think tough guys need a bit of adversity for the trip to be fun. If it was sunshine and birdsong for very long, I think you might get a bit bored. My perception of MN and WI is 'lots of water and lots of bugs' - so I guess in winter that translates to lots of snow and not so many bugs - but my experience in both states is pretty limited. After 20-some years of mild winters, I really dread having to live thru a U.S. winter at some point when my parents' health requires it. For now, I will 'enjoy' the snow through your tours. I look forward to seeing icicle season.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago