Jan. 18th - Ban Phaeng to Tha Uten - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 18, 2024

Jan. 18th - Ban Phaeng to Tha Uten

Another wonderful day on the bike and I even added a few more miles.  The majority of was on quiet roads.  

I passed through lots of agricultural fields and by lots of beautiful green rice paddies.  They often had white stork like birds amongst the shoots.

A little busy outside my hotel this morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dogs. I wonder how many get hit by cars/motorbikes as they are frequently just plopped down in the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful gate entry
Heart 1 Comment 0
I thought I'd go down to the river and find a perfect spot for a rest break. Perfect except it was ruined by somebody's laundry line blocking my view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don't worry, I faced the direction with the view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is the remnants of harvested rice?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love it!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some cute birds hanging out
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like wire tailed swallows

https://ebird.org/species/witswa1
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks Bill! Wondering where you've been.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
omg people, so green!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Getting ready for some festivities
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is one way to decorate. I remember making these as a kid
Heart 1 Comment 0
Laos mountains across the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
I haven't seen a lot of these in bloom, but they always make me so happy. Fuchsia and pretty!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I also was reminded why I love cats so much.  They don’t chase you!  I thought I was a goner a couple of times.  This one big rottweiler type was running and barking but I thought, "Oh good, he's behind the fence.  Probably a guard dog."  I look away and next thing I know he's coming right at me from the side!!!  The was was partially open.  I yelled a firm "no" at it and the doofus came to a screeching halt.  It was comical in a way because his paws kind of skidded.  Mind you, my stomach had just done a somersault!

Last bit was hot and I stayed on the highway to get the miles in faster.  Ok, I detoured briefly to the river to confirm I should stay on the highway.  I found a roadside shelter for a very late lunch and my second break.  I needed that before riding the last 8 miles.

Heart 1 Comment 0
My lunch buddy. Temperatures picking up - 88F/31c. I needed this shaded break
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cute
Heart 0 Comment 0
Engraved by my steps to my room
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tonight's accommodation. Used to be known as Siriphon House which is why I went by three times before figuring it out. I paid for the nicer room at 600baht
Heart 1 Comment 2
Andrea BrownWe stayed there in 2019/20! Beautiful garden and a brand new baby girl who must be running around now.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Andrea BrownI did see a little girl and yes, I know you guys stayed there. I'm using your blog to help me out -- so thanks! I got a better room up front than the cabin she first tried to show me.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked this old building
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fence surrounding the Wat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
See how the electrical ruins pictures?!
Heart 1 Comment 0
How about this angle?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Find the man sleeping
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
If looks could kill! I don't think he was too happy about being disturbed from his nap 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0
I liked the silhouette of this against the sunset
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was less than amused at seeing people floating in the river. I was like what happened? Did they fall off a boat? Then I saw another man jump in further up. I guess it's a thing to do, but brought me flashbacks of dead bodies.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful flowers on my walk to 7-11. Where else?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Night
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 694 miles (1,117 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0