A few updates and detours before I head to Chiang Mai, Thailand - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

A few updates and detours before I head to Chiang Mai, Thailand

It's all about the miles (airlines miles)

Some of you know I wrapped up house sitting and cat sitting for world cyclists Rachel and Patrick Hugens.  They have many great journals on here.  You should check them out!  They have provided tons of inspiration for me including some for this trip.  They had been off on an adventure that included hardcore trekking in Pakistan with the most impressive scenery!  I mean, impressive as in spectacular! 

 Racpat Morocco to Holland 2023 - CycleBlaze

I've become quite attached to Rachel and Patrick's cats!  That's convenient because it looks like my house/cat sitting services are needed again later this summer.  😁 It's a great arrangement we have going.  They are able to go on an adventure while I look after things at their home in Boise, Idaho.   I get some stability and down time in one place before my next trip.  (I am officially "nomadic" with all my belongings in storage.)   So far, it's working out for everyone.

My favorite three cats!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had foot and ankle surgery in January of this year, and my foot started acting up again on my last bike trip this summer.  The pain never went away so I finally followed up with another MRI.  Just inflammation and some issues that can't be addressed and the doctor said my foot was very angry.  Took another course of steroids and was quite concerned this was my new normal.  That being said, it made planning for this winter's bike trip difficult because I was afraid I'd end up in a walking boot again.  The good news was, I didn't!  But just in case, I had to stall for time before cycling.

Consequently, I hatched a plan to go to Disneyworld and then spend a few nights in Santa Monica/Los Angeles before catching my flight out of Los Angeles.  In the end, wasn't as much fun as I had anticipated, and my foot hurt that much more because of all the standing in lines.   I needed the air miles in an attempt to keep my lowly MVP status with Alaska Airlines because it has perks that I find valuable.  Time will tell.

I'm a planner.  I HATE winging it bicycle touring.  That's just me and I find planning half the fun so to each his own.  However, I am arriving in Chiang Mai, Thailand with no solid plan.  How does this happen?! 😂 I knew I wanted to spend at least two weeks in Chiang Mai before heading out on the bike so there would be plenty of time to plan there, right? 

 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0