Chiang Mai Thailand from Nov 17th to Dec 5th - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

November 17, 2023

Chiang Mai Thailand from Nov 17th to Dec 5th

Being part tourist, part local, part get my butt in shape

This is my third cycling trip to Thailand.  I biked from Bangkok to Chiang Mai in 2015, but ended my trip by doing a fitness boot camp for a week before flying home.  Therefore, I had seen a number of touristy things here previously.  If this nomadic way of life keeps working out, I wanted to kind of get a feel for Chiang Mai as I know a lot of expats live here.  It might be a great place for me to spend a winter.  I wanted to just enjoy the city and get in some day rides before heading out fully loaded.  I also found out the Lantern Festival was also happening so that cemented the deal to stay.

I spent the first seven nights at hotels just outside the Old City.  I wanted a quieter area and swimming pools.  I switched to the Comfort Zone hostel by Thae Pae Gate as most hotels were sold out for the festival.  I ended up staying there 10 nights as it was comfortable, clean and new, but really, it's because the owners, George and Kim, were just incredibly kind and fun to socialize with.

I did just a few day rides to get accustomed to riding on the left side of the road, the chaotic traffic, and the heat.  One ride I went south along the Ping River and another ride, I headed out to the convention center and then joined a bike path out to a lake (which I actually never got to, but that's another story.) 

I am so grateful I got to see a bit of the Lantern Festival, but it was not at all what I was anticipating.  Let's just say there were huge crowds, no crowd control, and in general, complete disorganization.  Sky lanterns were supposed to have been banned in the city, but clearly, this was not enforced.  It was pretty magical seeing the sky lit up.  I sent one down the Ping River.  It is said your worries and negative emotions go with it.  That's music to my ears!

I didn't do as many "touristy" things as I thought I would, but I did make my way to a number of temples and the grand finale, was a half day trip to an elephant rescue camp.  I also had some dental work done, ie. a cavity drilled out and a crown placed.  That was not fun!

It's going into "high season" here so all the good long-term stays had already been snatched up.  Otherwise, I might have stayed longer.  On the other hand, I was itching to hit the road and looking forward to the adventures ahead!

The moat around the Old City
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
The mountain view from Maya Mall. Got my hair cut there. It will not look this good again! 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0
ROAR!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wat Phra Singh
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
My first tuk tuk ride and the driver made it fun
Heart 6 Comment 0
And so the crazy statues begin. This is by Triple Cats Cycle, the touring bike shop to go to in Chiang Mai. I needed a small repair and a quick check of my bike. Yep, the rear dropout was totally bent. Thanks Alaska Airlines baggage handlers! 🤬
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wat Chedi Luang
Heart 1 Comment 0
Silver Temple
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
This little girl was so cute. We became friends while waiting for the opening ceremony for the Lantern Festival. (The worst opening ceremony ever!)
Heart 3 Comment 0
Beautiful sight (less the fire along the river.)
Heart 2 Comment 0
My krathong I sent down the Ping River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bye bye worries!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Kim and George. Owners of Comfort Zone Hostel.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Somebody's hungry.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The gal on the right kept knocking me in the head/hat with her ears!
Heart 4 Comment 3
Rich FrasierElephants!! I'm so jealous!!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Kim JohnsonIt was pretty amazing to actually get to interact with them. Not going to lie though, I was a little nervous at times. I don’t have the greatest history with wild animal encounters! 😂
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Rich FrasierMe,too! How great!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Majestic!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I should not quit my day job!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
What a great day! Fed them, did a jungle walk with them where they could behave naturally, and bathed them.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 67 miles (108 km)
Total: 67 miles (108 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachel and Patrick HugensHappy to see you writing about this tour!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Rachael AndersonI’m looking forward to following your journal! Great photos!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rachael AndersonThank you! Going to work on not getting hopelessly behind on this one!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago