Chiang Mai to Air Diamond Hotel (near Mae Taeng) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 5, 2023

Chiang Mai to Air Diamond Hotel (near Mae Taeng)

Let the fun REALLY begin!  I left Chiang Mai late this morning.  I had a very nice hotel last night so it took a bit of discipline to pull myself away.  The bed was so comfy!   However, I knew the longer I waited, the hotter it would get translating to the more difficult it would be. 

Official departure photo. Look closely at my back pannier. I have a little dinosaur as well as some tassels Rachel and Patrick brought me from Pakistan. I have to find the link/explanation again, but they are supposed to keep me safe on the road.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I was in the Nimman area so didn't have far to go to rejoin the bike path I took previously.  At least I'd have a few miles of peace before dealing with more traffic.  I kind of wanted to go to Tiger Kingdom, but since I've been before to both this one and the one in Phuket, I opted to skip it.  However, that was why I wasn't too worried about how late I left because if all else failed, I could get a hotel in Mae Rim.  

I knew I wanted to go to Chiang Rai and debated many times whether to follow highway 118, which is the more direct super highway, or take the scenic, but hilly route, heading north.  I have two sets of friends who have taken the latter route so in the end, I opted for it.  Not going to lie, I'm nervous.  Hills are not my friends especially at the beginning of a trip!  However, I may have a plan to avoid the worst of it. 😉

More good luck coming my way
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice to see you again! (There were at least 10 of these pandas scattered along the path)
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bike path. Enjoy it while I can. It's gonna get crazy soon!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Glory (he's my stuffed bear travel buddy) wanted his picture taken with this guy.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is actually on google maps as a "cyclists monument" 🤣
Heart 1 Comment 0

I did rejoin the very busy highway 107.  I just stood my ground and took more of the lane when needed.  In general, cars were very courteous and always gave me space.  It's the motorcycles/scooters that sneak up on you and drive a bit erratic at times.  I really had to stay on my toes because it's easy to forget they will speed by me whether I know they are there or not.  There is no sense of "this is my space."

Monument
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's kind of BIG!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Eventually, I had enough and checked on RideWithGPS for an alternate route on side roads.  Found a great way and was in heaven.  No traffic!  The only concern near the end was missing a few turns and or constantly checking the directions so I wouldn't miss any more.  At that point I was starting to get hot.

Now we're talking! Off the dangerous highway!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lots of yellow flowers and various flowers in general along the way
Heart 2 Comment 0
A gazillion white stork like birds in the field
Heart 2 Comment 0
I look a little hot, but oh so happy!
Heart 1 Comment 0
About those flowers (although I'm betting this is a weed) 🤣
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like quail grass. Not invasive, but apparently naturalized in tropical areas worldwide.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/160259-Celosia-argentea
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Scenic view
Heart 0 Comment 0

Made my way to the hotel I had seen when I went on my elephant excursion.  It's a nice new hotel with gigantic rooms and an elevator!  There is a huge real airplane out front which is a bit of a tourist attractions for the locals.  Buy a "ticket" to board the plane and have a drink in the cafe on board.  For many, they will never fly on a plane like this so it's there chance to check it out.

Quite the airplane theme going on
Heart 2 Comment 0
In case you miss the airplane, there's an upside down house out front as well
Heart 1 Comment 0
Literally, AN AIRPLANE!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
All aboard
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 91 miles (146 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0