Kathmandu for a week - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

March 4, 2024 to March 10, 2024

Kathmandu for a week

Just so no one thinks I've died in Nepal I'll do a quick update.  P.S.  I'm not biking here at this point and am currently in the touristy city of Pokhara relaxing.  More updates coming soon, I promise!

But first, my time in Kathmandu.  I spent a second night at the Hyatt Place hotel as I came down with a cold.  I was absolutely exhausted for a few days.  They were so kind to me and are also willing to hold my bike and gear if I decide not to bike in Nepal so I figured a second night couldn't hurt.  However, out of this cyclist's budget so on the third day I moved down to the touristy Thamel area.  I picked Vastu Boutique Hotel which ran a more affordable $30ish US dollars per night.  There were a number of well-reviewed hotels on that little side street.  The downside is I didn't feel good for a number of days so didn't venture out very far.  

I loved the touristy streets and alleys selling all kinds of goods.  I did head down to Durbar Square on day, but foreigners need to pay around $8 dollars to be allowed in to walk the streets and see the temples.  I'm templed out and didn't feel like it was worth the cost.

I need these! Meow!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Garden of Dreams - a little oasis in the city, but you need to pay 400 Rupees to gain access
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wildlife sighting!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like maybe a Five-striped Palm Squirrel.
https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/45933-Sciuridae/browse_photos?place_id=116320
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I walked to a bike shop as I needed to replace my gloves. Saw this on the way back. Only thing that's missing is MY pal Glory!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oooooh look! Cherry blossoms!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bicycle rickshaws. The first time I saw them my heart was very happy
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wandering
Heart 0 Comment 0
I turned down a narrow path and ended up at a dead end. But hey, I liked the buildings
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lazy dogs
Heart 0 Comment 0
The birds!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Durbar Square
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
For sale!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
When you think you are having a bad day at the office, just look at this lady carrying a load of rocks!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Excellent workmanship on those electrical lines
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A lot of beams supporting buildings. Sure hope there's not an earthquake while I'm here!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked the etchings on the bottom of the pan
Heart 0 Comment 0
So many things for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0
More excellent electrical work 😨
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
So colorful I almost want to eat my vegetables!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glory could have made some friends at this shop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of a gazillion outdoor gear stores selling fake "name brand" items
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just because....
Heart 0 Comment 0
I ate at this restaurant. I was just a little concerned about the meat in the case....
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's always handy when you can sit on the toilet and wash your hands at the same time 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Comfortable room for the rest of the week
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Gregory GarceauHi Kim. I must say, I was intrigued by your photos of the electrical wires, but I mostly liked the understated humor in the captions. My captions would have been more like: WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON HERE? I might have written something even more outrageous about those wooden beams trying to hold up entire buildings.

Anyway, good job in posting such oddities.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Gregory GarceauUpon a second look, maybe they are metal beams.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago