March 3rd - Sri Lanka to Kathmandu (via air) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

March 3, 2024

March 3rd - Sri Lanka to Kathmandu (via air)

Sri Lanka recap

I’m out of here! I have a love/hate relationship with Sri Lanka.  I loved the varying scenery, wildlife, and most people.  There’s a little bit of everything here in Sri Lanka.  My favorite places were the tea plantations of Nuwara Eliya, the the mountain town of  Ella, and the beach town of Mirissa.  Easily could have spent more time in those three places.  I did not love the shouting from the men, the ridiculous horn honking, and the dangerous kamikaze buses.  For the record, I also got tired of hearing, “It’s A Small World” playing on the loudspeaker of the bakery trucks/ ice cream trucks.  You didn’t even know I had to deal with that on an almost daily basis in the cities 😂


I do not like the space I’ve been in.  I’m angry at drivers and swearing at them when they make idiot moves without regards to my location.  I don’t usually have a temper, but I sure do have a short fuse lately.  I think it’s a combination of my flasher incident and just being tired of the overzealous men.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned it before, but it just feels different here at times and not in a good way.  

Every blog I looked at mentioned the crazy bus drivers.  After hearing about the two foreigners killed, and knowing if I make a mistake, I could easily be killed, just had me on edge.  I’ve dealt with bad traffic lots of times and although not pleasant, it doesn’t usually phase me.  I think it was the pure recklessness that made me angry.  I need some down time and an attitude adjustment to return to the nice person that I am.  😀 Clearly, mentally worn out.

Would I cycle here again?  Not sure at this point.  Don’t regret it, but love other countries more.  If it wasn’t for the above issues, I probably  wouldn’t hesitate to come back.  It’s been an amazing adventure!  But now it’s time for a new country!! Nepal, here I come!! 

Bid for an upgrade on my flight again (either way I was paying extra because of baggage.). Got it, but later met a gal who got a free upgrade so I probably overpaid.  Still worth it as I get extra luggage allowance, got to relax in the lounge with food and drinks before my flight, and had a very comfortable flight.  I finally saw the movie “Barbie” and I actually really enjoyed it.  Met my seat mate near the end and she told me were were getting gipped on Mountain View’s.  Then she showed me pictures from previous flights and I am sad now.  😂

Landed and had to input info on the computer for a visa on arrival.  Then, got to another window to pay, then to another line to clear immigration.  I specifically asked two people if there was a line for business class and got told, I don’t know” and “no.”  Liars.  After waiting near the end of a line in a sea of people, I finally spit an express lane for “Business Class.”  Stamped through lickety-split after that.

I have low level status with Hyatt hotels which and I just wanted comfort and ease on arrival in Kathmandu so that’s what I booked for my first night.  Plus, they arranged a taxi van to meet me which also makes for a pretty stress free arrival.  Oh, and because of my status, on arrival, I got to put my hand in a fishbowl and pick a card.  I won “free airport drop off” which they allowed me to use for my what would have been very overpriced pickup.  Score!

Traffic was pretty horrid and took longer than it should have to get to the hotel.  Got checked in and went in search of an ATM.  The hotel one didn’t seem to like me, the next one was out of order so I went a bit further and finally got some cash. 

Came back with some Oreos and Coke Zero too.  I splurged on a dinner buffet at the hot l as I have been up since 5:00am, I missed lunch and I’m feeling exhausted.

It’s rainy and cold here and I love  it!  I have a feeling I am going to like Nepal!!

See Mt Everest? Ya, me neither. I’m told the little area where the clouds are not quite level, is Mt Everest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still Beautiful
Heart 0 Comment 0
Valley
Heart 0 Comment 0
My room is beautiful! I was given a high floor!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The view out my window is even more beautiful!!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Welcome to Nepal!!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0