March 2nd - Galle to Negombo (via van) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

March 2, 2024

March 2nd - Galle to Negombo (via van)

I contacted the hotel I'm staying at (again) in Negombo and they arranged a van to pick Claire and I up and transport us to Colombo.  It was hard getting straight answers from them, but it appeared everything was set for a reasonable price of $60 US.  Then shenanigans started this morning.  Can I send them a picture of our bikes and gear?  Weird.  I sent them a picture of my finishing photo and say we have two of those bikes.  Anyways, long story short, they sent a guy in a car whose seats fold down.  Once I realized this, I tell them we requested and need a van.  Then the scramble is on to find a van.  Eventually, he gets one, but we have to pay $75.  Fine.  No time to argue now, but I'm pissed.  Instead of taking a morning walk around the Fort, I'm stuck on my phone trying to sort everything out.  Not relaxing at all nor how I want to spend my morning and just a tad bit stressful as both Claire and I have flights tomorrow.  Claire's on her way back to Thailand where she will bike south to Singapore.  

Breakfast visitor
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was so nice to meet Claire and meet up with her a number of times throughout the trip.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Thankfully, are van driver was not crazy and Claire and I chatted.  He stopped for us at a rest area and yep, I managed to lose my reading glasses during that stop.  I noticed it but was hoping they were in the van.  They weren't and must have fallen out while we were walking.  I swear, this really is the record for the amount of things I've lost this trip!

I couldn't resist. Maybe I'm finally getting over being mad at Bryan. 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0

We weave our way through Colombo traffic and drop of Claire.  Just another 45 minutes to my hotel near the airport.  I get dropped off and checked into my room.  The owners aren't there yet, but I have things to do and I get busy packing up my bike and gear.

Eventually, the owners return and they explain the van guy had ignored them for days.  Hmm, you didn't think that might be a problem?  They tell me it's going into high season so it's hard to find drivers.  They were upset with the guy and apologetic with me, so I let it go.  It all worked out.  They really are a lovely couple and I paid for my room and a bit extra to thank them for holding my bike box. 

And guess where I'm going?  Nepal!!! I can't even believe it myself.  As is the theme of my bike tours lately, I am totally unprepared, but in reality, I have thought I might just take some time off my bike anyways and relax.  I can't wait to see what adventures lie ahead for me!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0