March 1st - Mirissa to Galle - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 29, 2024

March 1st - Mirissa to Galle

Last day on the bike in Sri Lanka and talk about great scenery as I hugged the coastline.  Beautiful beaches and lots of surfers in the water.  Very few actually catching a wave.  It's always a bit surreal ending a trip in a country.  Short day on the bike today and I kept thinking I'd find a nice cafe to have a drink and take in the beautiful views.  Somehow, I never stopped to do that.  Bummer, but still a fantastic ride.  I did meet another cyclist and we rode together a bit.  Haven't seen many cyclists this trip which was actually a bit surprising. 

Claire went whale watching this morning, so I left before her.   She and I both decided we would carpool back to Colombo in the essence of time and avoiding the nightmare traffic. 

Galle is an old colonial town surrounded and has an "old city" part where I did some window shopping.  It's actually located within the walls of the fort for which the city is known for.  Hotel prices were spendy!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colonial buildings
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Finishing photo number two doctored up a bit 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rooms was a little disappointing. This town is expensive!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view was okay however
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 1,277 miles (2,055 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0