Feb. 29th - Mirissa - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 29, 2024

Feb. 29th - Mirissa

Rest day in paradise

What a great place to almost end my trip in Sri Lanka.  Mirissa has beautiful beaches with warm water and I even found turtles!  I also "snorkeled" in a tide pool 😂  Okay, I only had my swim goggles and I just stayed in one spot, but sometimes you gotta do what ya gotta do to see cute little fish.  Wish I had more time to spend here.

First up, I'm going to go check out Parrot rock. I walked to it yesterday, but I needed something sturdier than my flip flops before climbing
Heart 0 Comment 0
About that climb....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Totally safe! 😨
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going down was worse, but it was a great little island, aka rock
Heart 0 Comment 0
I practiced my selfies
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at Mirissa Beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was a unique flowering bush
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMilkweed family. Maybe crown flower?

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/67574-Calotropis-gigantea/browse_photos?place_id=7077
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Find the turtle coming up for air
Heart 0 Comment 0
The boats were cool too
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another turtle shot. I swam briefly in the water, but the visibility was poor. As I was walking over to Coconut Tree Hill, a guy at a cafe stopped to point out the turtles. So I bought a very overpriced Coke Zero and watched for awhile.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Coconut Tree Hill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Find the speckled crab on the stairs. There was a little fish washed up too. I felt sorry for them.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was actually taking a picture of the menu, but this lady doesn't look thrilled. However, it's worth noting I love the colorful outfits the women wear here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Found the local gym. All the dumb bells and barbells had weights made out of chopped wood with the weight burned into the ends. Very cool idea!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did one press. Didn't want to overdo it! 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dinner with Claire beachside. This "pork" burger looks way better than it tasted!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0