Feb. 28th - Tangalle to Mirissa - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 28, 2024

Feb. 28th - Tangalle to Mirissa

I arrived in Mirissa, home of the most fantastic beach!!  The waves were pretty big, but I ventured out and jumped a few until I realized there was a good chance my leg was possibly going to cramp.  That wouldn't be a good thing in this surf so I headed back to shore.  I will take a rest day tomorrow, but really, I have things to explore.  

I only have one day of cycling left in Sri Lanka.  Claire (the other solo cyclist) and I are arranging a ride from Galle to Colombo.  We both don't want to deal with traffic in Colombo and we both are running out of time!

Today's odd encounters continue... Why did the peacock cross the road? Did you know there are a lot of peacocks in Sri Lanka?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gets rid of the garbage but not so good for the lungs as I cycle by
Heart 0 Comment 0
But wait, let's do a portrayal of hell...a two for one deal! May the buses of Sri Lanka burn in hell!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quite the balancing act
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's a flying monkey! (He's not touching the ground.)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting statue where I met two German tourists who were touring around in a tuk-tuk! Side note: I kept running into them the last few days of this trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pay attention to where I'm cycling. Can you imagine if you lost focus for a minute and fell into that moat off of the shoulder?! Ouch!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a hard time finding the hotel I had picked up, but asked at one that was like a block away from mine.  A tour guide helped me find it and they had one villa left for two nights.  But as is common, there was a strong smell permeating from the bathroom.  I thought the hotel next door would be out of my budget, but decided to go ask.  Lucky me, was able to bargain it down quite a bit by skipping breakfast.  Sold!  Randiya Sea View Hotel although I didn't have a room with a sea view.

My hotel had a nice painting
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mirissa Beach and Parrot Rock in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
What's not to love?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I love the message on my toes. Every time I see them, it brings me a bit of happiness. "Chase the Sun." In case you haven't been paying attention, it's also a Corey Hart song.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Purple velvet. It's what sold me on the room. Well, and the swimming pool!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 1,256 miles (2,021 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0