Feb. 27th - 30km before Tangalle to Tangalle - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 27, 2024

Feb. 27th - 30km before Tangalle to Tangalle

I knew I was doing another short day today as I was headed to Tangalle.  I made a reservation last night and contacted them to make sure it was okay if I arrived early.  It's a little tricky because I only had about 20 miles to cover, but still need to go early because of the weather.

Got on the road by 8:30, but the heat was already pretty brutal.  It's in the mid 90's, but the "real feel" is 100.  I guarantee you, I was feeling it!  It sucks the life right out of me.

So simple, yet so beautiful
Heart 1 Comment 0
As are these flowers
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've barely talked about the incessant horn honking that takes place around here. LOVE this sign. They need these signs in the whole country! 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0

Bus traffic seemed to increase today as did their usual craziness.  Today I learned that the red buses are the government buses and the blue buses are private.  I'm pretty sure they all drive recklessly!

I stopped on the shoulder for this picture, but unfortunately, this is an all too common occurrence
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had just tiny little climbs today and I was getting a little out of breath.  Pretty sure it was the heat as they definitely shouldn't have felt hard at all -- even for me who hates hills!

I found Pizza Hut in town and had the usual and got cooled down before cycling the last mile or so.  I got checked into my accommodation which is absolutely wonderful as is the family.  Highly recommend Dinuri Villa.  The reviews on Booking dot com are absolutely correct.  This place is a gem!

The two sisters wanted me in the pic too
Heart 0 Comment 0
They were so helpful
Heart 1 Comment 0
Giant room! I even have a little kitchen
Heart 0 Comment 0

No since showering as I have to go check out the beaches.  There's one at the end of my street, but I decided to walk to "Silent Beach" as that's the popular one.  It's one of the few you can swim at.  The others have rip tides, undertows, steep drop offs and big wave making them unsafe.  Personally, I would be worried about a wayward crocodile, but that's just me.

I got charged extra for a water bottle today even though I know the price is printed on the bottles.  When I told the lady she said I had to pay extra because it was cold.  That's only the price for room temperature water.  OMG, do you think I am stupid?!  Whatever, I just paid it, but it's the principle of it that pisses me off.  Tourist area, let's jack up the prices.

I had a nice walk along the beach, well, relatively nice.  It was incredibly hot.  The water on my feet never felt so good.  On the way back I was walking into the wind so much better.  Bargained the tuk-tuk to the normal price after refusing to pay the mark up saying, "I'll walk" but eventually the second guy said okay to my price.  It was either that or he was going back to town empty.  The first guy actually called my hotel I was staying at to complain to them why they were telling me the price.  I told the guy, "Why are you calling them, I will walk."  I may have also called him an idiot as I was walking away!  I'm going to blame it on the heat.  Actually, today was a tough day mentally.  At one point, I felt like I could cry and I had no idea why.  I think a combination of the heat, the buses, and worrying about how unprepared I am for my next country.  

Got back and the family brought me another cold lime/lemon drink.  I hadn't seen their What'sApp, but they lady wanted to cook me dinner, "her gift" even though they had quoted me a price earlier.  So nice of them.  I just rounded up when I paid for my accommodation and the two Coke Zero's I had requested they bring me when I learned that they were at the store.  Dinner was delicious, prawns, rice and papaya!  All in all, a good day despite the challenges. 

First glimpse of a beach riding along
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beach at the end of my street
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looks inviting
Heart 0 Comment 0
I usually don't take or post pictures of dead animals, but surely, this guy is sleeping. 😂 It was a bit of a shock as I was walking along
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltFruit bat (flying fox)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indian_flying_fox
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Silent Beach looking one way
Heart 0 Comment 0
And looking the other. Beautiful!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dog pow wow
Heart 0 Comment 0
The glare was blinding. This was supposed to be a picture of both feet in the Indian Ocean. I only captured one foot. I'll try again tomorrow....
Heart 0 Comment 0
The homestay couple. So kind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Four year old full of mischief, but cute
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 1,226 miles (1,973 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0