Feb. 26th - Weerawilla to 30km before Tangalle - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 26, 2024

Feb. 26th - Weerawilla to 30km before Tangalle

Bring on the heat!

Although I really enjoyed my two nights of luxury, it really hit home how much I get to see of the real Sri Lanka (or anywhere really) versus travelers who come to places like this and stay for a week.  Yes, I was well taken care of, but it felt very sheltered.  I needed that at this point and not knocking people who choose this kind of vacation, but I am thankful I travel the way I do.

Digestive track was a bit unhappy this morning after my buffet last night, but I didn't leave my hotel until 12:30 so it had time to sort itself out.  Just to play it safe though, I took an Imodium so there wouldn't be any issues on the road!  I knew I was going to do a short day today because I was leaving so late, but I really wanted to enjoy my hotel up until the last minute.  The receptionist was so nice and gave me some delicious cookies to go!  (They give you a nice warm cookie on arrival.)  She also mentioned how hot it was outside.  Umm, thanks for reminding me!

At one point I had considered backtracking to go to Udawalwe National Park, which is supposed to be superb for elephant spotting, but good thing I had decided not to.  I had a rip-roaring tail/cross wind and had I backtracked the 12 miles to the junction, that would have meant a headwind for me.  Some things are just meant to be.

Saw some interesting things along the way today and a variety of "people" were "sharing the road."

And by "people" I mean "monitor lizards" (look closely, he's crossing the road)
Heart 1 Comment 0
And cows
Heart 0 Comment 0
I guess they burn the fields here too
Heart 0 Comment 0
It almost doesn't phase me anymore. Almost.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Straggler. I'm a straggler too. We'd get along great!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like a great place for a drink of water (for the cows, not me!) I saw some headed this way. But, look closely in the middle of the picture, far left...
Heart 0 Comment 0
...but I'd reconsider! This guy is huge!!! I hope no one got eaten!
Heart 2 Comment 0

The A2 road I was riding parallels Bundala National Park, so the scenery was nice.

For a second I thought these were the not nice water buffalo as they are on the other side of the electric fence, but they have collars
Heart 1 Comment 0
There were all these stork like birds above the road at one point. Not sure what was up. Probably enjoying the winds.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I will never tire of seeing this
Heart 0 Comment 0
Couldn't grab the pic in time, but I saw another large croc and then he went under
Heart 0 Comment 0

There were signs for an "expressway", but I was following highway A2.  It actually expanded to three lanes, and I stopped a couple of times to make sure I hadn't ended up on the expressway.  It definitely looked like a freeway that I was on, but hardly any cars.  Great!  More room for me!

I ended up going further than I had planned because of the wind, but still only 22 miles.  However, the hot weather was getting to me, and I felt really wiped out.  I actually went to bed early for once.

I stayed at Sobaya Residence which had great reviews, but it was a bit disappointing.  Although the room was huge and great, the guys running the place (not the owner) had the music and tv blasting downstairs oblivious to their guest upstairs.  Also, I had to be really persistent that I was not leaving my bike outside overnight no matter how many times they tell me "It's safe."  It's a chance I am not willing to take if I can help it and I had mentioned on arrival that it needed to be inside at night.  The other issue was a ridiculous swarm (probably not the right word) of ants in the bathroom including the toilet!  The guy came and sprayed and washed them all away.  Later I went to pee and saw one so lifted the toilet seat just to see more clearly and another swarm of them.  I made them come and clean it all up again.  Not really their fault as it's just a thing here, but in the morning, there were two dead cockroaches in the bathroom too.  Gross!  What was funny is that I came out of my room one time to go downstairs and there was just this huge fog and it smelled like incense.  I went down and asked, "What happened?"  The explained it was for mosquitos.  Timing is everything.

Night. Just as I was ready for bed, I had to get dressed again to go ask for a top sheet or blanket. Grrrr
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 1,205 miles (1,939 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0