Feb. 25th - Weerawilla - luxury rest day - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 25, 2024

Feb. 25th - Weerawilla - luxury rest day

Yep, I spent a second day in my sheltered, luxurious surroundings with top notch service.   I had such a relaxing afternoon yesterday that I decided to stay one more night (which was loosely the plan anyways.)  It's just hard to justify it when there are cheaper accommodations in the surrounding area.

However, I needed the break from the chaos more than I realized.  No one is shouting at me to get my attention and I just blend in with the other foreigners staying here.

The other draw to this area is Yala National Park.  The most popular park in all of Sri Lanka and the thing I wanted to do the most.  However, hearing from other travelers and in reading the online reviews, I have decided to give it a miss.  I'd just be in a jeep by myself again, but with 100's of other jeeps racing around trying to be the first to spot the big draw, a leopard.  And if we did find one, you then have to wait in a line of jeeps and hope it's still there when it's your turn to watch it for two minutes.  Same idea with elephants.  I love animals and with no oversight in the park, it's just a bit of a turn off to contribute to that chaos.  Sri Lanka, get your act together in this regards.  (FYI, from my hotel, my jeep would have been $80US plus another approximately $40 for the entrance fee) so for those prices, I want a memorable experience in a postive way. 

The good thing about being solo is I get the whole complimentary snack platter to myself
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think this little guy is lost
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like maybe some kind of agate snail

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/829419-Achatininae/browse_photos?place_id=7077
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Glory's a bit jealous I am twins with this guy
Heart 0 Comment 0

I missed posting these pics on yesterday's blog entry

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's one overloaded truck. Sugar cane?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trust me, it looked much prettier in person
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0