Feb. 24th - Wellawaya to Weerawila - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 24, 2024

Feb. 24th - Wellawaya to Weerawila

Fancy resort time!

I had a nice breakfast that filled me up before hitting the road today.  A slight downhill for quite a bit more before leveling out.  I was riding through quite a bit of poorer areas.  I was keeping an eye out for a cold water, but most shops were a little rough and I did not see many refrigerated coolers at the front.  Eventually, I found one and took a long break.  It helped that they had ice cream too!

One funny thing happened today and I wish I would have grabbed a picture of the cute kid.  I was riding a long and two boys shout hello and then they younger one gives me this karate stance.  I stopped my bike and gave him a karate stance back 😂  The dad got a good laugh out of that.  I shouted hello and goodbye and continued on my way.  Just a brief little interaction brought a little bit of happiness to everyone.

I made one last stop at the bigger supermarket before crossing Wirawila lake.  The road literally goes through the middle of it.  Needless to say lots of bird life and I wondered if there were crocodiles.  I did see a bus load of people swimming so figured it was probably safe.  I am super happy about my hotel choice tonight which constitutes an official splurge!  (It was part of my logic of leaving late yesterday and covering a short distance.  I didn't want a 50 mile day to get to my fancy resort.  The earlier I arrive the better.  I was able to check in about an hour early thanks to my Hilton Gold membership (thanks to my credit card.)

Breakfast view. It works for me!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today's theme. Dogs laying on the shoulder. An above average amount
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colorful fruit stand
Heart 0 Comment 0
They told me there would be not elephant issues on this road. The sign says otherwise
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am at the edge of a national park. Let's hope all the animals stay in it! (There was electric fencing most of the way)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Which little piggy built this house?
Heart 0 Comment 0
As if the dogs weren't enough....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh, this doesn't look good!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm crossing a lake that has a road that divides it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don't crash now!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A bit of luxury coming my way!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I forgot about the reviews that mentioned the pool was big
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chase the Sun ✅
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bird alert. I liked him.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Well, that answers that questions. Note to self: check swimming pool first if I go for a night swim
Heart 0 Comment 0
Did I mention how big the pool is!! Heaven!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be Bengal trumpet

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/129036-Thunbergia-grandiflora
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
The finest comfort. Night
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 1,183 miles (1,904 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0