Jan 17th - Bung Khla to Ban Phaeng - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 17, 2024

Jan 17th - Bung Khla to Ban Phaeng

J.B. Place Hotel

If you haven't noticed, my days are only averaging around 30 miles.  I don't mind at all.  It's perfect.  It gives me a chance to explore some of the quieter side roads and not care about a couple of extra miles.  I'm hitting the stops that most people hit on this route.  It has to do with the spacing of the towns and accommodation.  It's either really long days or short days.  I'm perfectly happy with how this is going.  Thankfully, it hasn't been too hot.  Mid 80's at the most, but it's nice arriving at the hotel mid-day.  It's also nice because they let you check in early here with no issues.

Chatted with Brian some more before I left this morning.  He is taking another day off because he has a very flexible schedule and he likes this place.  Got on the road just before 8:00.

Check out these perfect crops! Impressive!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I checked google maps carefully, and after hitting the local 7-11, I headed back to the river because I knew I could have about 5 miles of peaceful cycling with no dead ends
Heart 1 Comment 0
Baby is nursing on mama who's keeping an eye on me
Heart 1 Comment 0
Headed back towards the highway. There were some big bodies of water with nice reflections
Heart 2 Comment 0
A row of these alters looked cool. Returned to highway 212 not long after.
Heart 1 Comment 0
BRIGHT fuchsia tree. I actually turned down the side road to get a picture. That one didn't turn out and dogs were coming at me. Snapped this one from the highway. The dog is still barking at me 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0

Not long after I look in my mirror on my bike and see another dog hauling ass at me.  Not barking or anything initially.  I slow down and yell a couple of firm "no's" at him and the other dog that joined in the chase at the last minute.  With a bit of initial reluctance, they gave up the chase.  Whew!

At times the highway was pleasant and clam
Heart 0 Comment 0
These trees remind me of an African landscape
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was hesitant to turn off on any more side roads and I didn't find the highway cycling to bad.  Yes, trucks went by me at times, but they seemed to give me extra space.  Besides, I had to pee and I figured there was a better chance of finding something up here and I wanted a direct route.  Much to my happiness, I saw a sign that said 5km to you got it, basically a little travel center with 7-11, bathrooms, Amazon Cafe and gas, not that I need that.  Had lunch a took a nice rest break.

After lunch, I knew there was one more side detour I could take to get off the highway so rested up and not needing a bathroom anymore, thought I'd end my day on a nice note.

I was being "that person" yelling "hello" to the cows to try and get them all to look. As I'm cycling off, I notice their shepherd guy up ahead watching over them. I was slightly embarrassed.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What the heck are these water plants? They remind me of elephant ears from the fair.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm back in Africa again with this tree and just like was frequently the case there, I have the road to myself.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The plants are all raised up on a stem out of the water
Heart 0 Comment 0
I laughed at this because I took the side road as it followed a body of water and thought it'd be nice cycling. This section, not so nice! 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
From other blogs (thanks Andrea and Bruce) I believe these are tobacco plants
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice walkway right at the waters edge, but I noticed the locals sleeping on it so I stayed on the road. Siesta time!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was getting a little hot this last section so was happy to get back to the highway where my hotel is located.

JB Place Hotel. The first room she directed me to smelled really musty so I asked for a different room. I got one hidden way in the back, but no window.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My old trainer's initials are "JB" (and he works for Chris Powell now) so I got a kick out of finding an actual decent gym at the hotel. Who exactly is using this modern gym?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I keep myself amused
Heart 0 Comment 0

Found a giant heart and one picture could have been enough, but since I got bored later, I thought I should have a little photo shoot and practice with my selfie stick/tripod. 😂

Could have stopped here, but I went back for a photo shoot later this afternoon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wearing my Corey Hart "Chase the Sun" shirt of course!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 31 miles (50 km)
Total: 652 miles (1,049 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0