Jan 16th - Bueng Kan to Bung Khla - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 16, 2024

Jan 16th - Bueng Kan to Bung Khla

Monprasit Resort

Good morning.  I know I've mentioned this before in other blogs, but besides my musical guys, I am also a huge fan of fitness expert Chris Powell.  He just put out a new health and fitness app called "The Kept App with Chris Powell."  As such, they are doing an 8-week challenge regarding promises you set and keep with yourself.  That means, he's also doing a Facebook live once a week for the duration.  It's at 8:30 am my time.  I love participating in them so I had to decide whether to leave my hotel late, or get in an hour of cycling and hope I could find somewhere to pull off and watch it.  I opted to get some cycling done in the cooler hours of the morning.  

I stuck with Highway 212 for now knowing they had the rest shelters and likely more shops as well.  Well, the highway dropped for a large 4 lane, to a smaller two lane with a much narrower shoulder.  As I was watching the minutes tick by getting closer and closer to 8:30, it's not looking good.  Not the safest shoulder to be stopping on.  Then, just as I'm giving up hope, I see a little construction pull out/lot just before a side road.  Even luckier, I see there's some sort of shop/restaurant.  Lucky me.  I pull up, by some water and milk and go to sit down at a table.  Probably because the sweat was pouring off of me, the lady motioned me over to the shaded shelter.  As an added bonus, she gave me the wifi password and I spent the next 45 minutes relaxing and watching the live.  😀 The only annoying thing was that there were a gazillion flies buzzing about.  I promise, I showered last night.  Leave me alone! 😂

And just in case you're wondering, this week's challenge is on gratitude which is one of my favorites!  I'd already been working on this one anyways because it helps shift my focus to a more positive outlook -- and let's be honest, I need that sometimes!    I usually focus on it right before bed as it gives me a chance to reflect on each day and remember the positives.

Store/restaurant. There was some debate about the white lump on fb. I promise, it's a dog and it has a head! 😂
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingDefinitely a dog
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Mike AylingDefinitely a dog
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Thankful for a shaded area to watch the FB live
Heart 0 Comment 0
Saying goodbye. On the road again
Heart 0 Comment 0
I mean, if I'm going to ride the main highway, I don't think this is too shabby scenery wise
Heart 0 Comment 0
It had to happen eventually. The true photo op with milepost 69. I have a love/hate relationship with Bryan Adams these days, but tradition continues....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ummm, I hope there's an elephant park ahead and we aren't talking wild elephants!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the only wildlife I saw
Heart 0 Comment 0

I planned to stick to the highway until I could turn off on country road #3008.  It did not disappoint.  Birds chirping, no traffic, rubber tree farms.  I'm grateful for all of it and in my happy place!

Awwwwwe, this is more like it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
And I am in rubber plantation heaven
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quiet road with hardly any traffic
Heart 0 Comment 0
And stands of trees that I just love looking at except I am a little worried these ones could fall on me! Move over Leaning Tower of Pisa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Picture perfect!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's almost like there are fall colors
Heart 0 Comment 0
Collecting sap on the trees. Do you see this? My patience and effort paid off. I caught the drip mid drip!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A variety of agriculture
Heart 0 Comment 0
From other blogs I saw that these are tomatoes, and I did eventually see some. That's Laos' Highway 13 bridge across the river. Glad I'm over here!!!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
And how can I resist getting some banana trees in a picture?
Heart 0 Comment 0

When I got to the resort no one was around.  I walked back by the bungalows to see if they were cleaning them.  They weren't, but I did see one occupied and a bicycle in the room.  I met Brian.  I went back to get my bike and someone was just arriving at the office, so I got checked in.  Brian is like me, so happy to be able to speak English with someone.  We chatted for a while until I decided I needed to get situated and cooled down.  

We were chatting gain later and talking about CGOAB and CycleBlaze and then he casually mentioned the name of another Brian.  I was like wait.  Brian and Gina?  Yep, he's cycled with them before and now it rang a bell.  I ran into them cycling in Thaialnd in 2018 and used their blogs for research and remember seeing him in pictures, but wondering why he was cycling in jeans.  That's just how he rolls.  Anyways, small world.  BTW, Gina is the wonderful person who invited me to stay at her apartment in Vancouver when I was there to see Corey Hart's concert.  They cycled this route ahead of me so have given me some invaluable tips.

The view from my room.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was crackin me up. The guy was dragging jeans behind his motorcycle
Heart 0 Comment 0
You think I'm kididng?
Heart 0 Comment 0
And then kept inspecting them. They knew I was getting a kick out of it. Stone washed jeans takes on a whole new meaning!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My cute little cabin overlooking the Mekong River.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 621 miles (999 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0