Feb. 12th - Anuradhapura to Habarana - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 12, 2024

Feb. 12th - Anuradhapura to Habarana

I had wanted to pass through Minhitale,  but the home stay owner gave me directions directly out of town and when I added Google maps to the mix, I missed it completely.  That’s okay, it was beautiful ride along some lakes that I wasn’t expecting.  Originally, I planned to stay there, but after my route planning last night, decided I’d better push in to Habarana.  

I was so happy to have the sun behind the clouds today.  It makes such a difference in tolerating the heat.  Actually had a decent day and covered 39 miles.



My homestay family. I had to do a whole photo shoot with individual photos before I could leave
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wanted the dog in the photo. He’s in the center :)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Military compound. There are people in that watchtower
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Common scene which isn’t entirely bad. They are less likely to give chase
Heart 1 Comment 0
In bloom
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A blue bird 😂
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like a grey-headed swamp hen

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grey-headed_swamphen
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Wow!! This is nice cycling!
Heart 0 Comment 0
More crops drying — on my shoulder !
Heart 0 Comment 0

I met this group of women and children as they were gettin off the bus.  The lady in red quickly invited me to her home for cold water, but I said I was all set.  We chatted for a few minutes if answering questions like, “Are you alone?  Where is your husband? Are you married?  Why aren’t you married d? Do you have children?” “Chatting.” 😂. I asked permission to take their photo, but as you can see, some clearly didn’t want their faces seen. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More elephants along the wall
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Athkandura Hotel, right on the main road.  Walk I. Price for one person was $6,000 rupees.  Definitely recommend this place!

My cute little home. They asked if I wanted upstairs. Umm, no. Keyword: stairs!
Heart 0 Comment 0
First things first. Time to cool down in the pool.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bananas!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be crepe jasmine, or some other periwinkle type plant.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/169521-Tabernaemontana-divaricata
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Love the colors. Night.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 988 miles (1,590 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0