Feb. 13th - day ride to Sigiyari - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2024

Feb. 13th - day ride to Sigiyari

I went for a day ride out to Sigiyari, home of the famous Lions Rock.  I thought for sure I would climb it, but I didn’t feel like paying the $30/35 fee foreigners are charged.  Ridiculous.  I heard Pidirangula rock was only about $6, and has equally stunning, if not better views as it looks over to Lion Rock.


I asked at the hotel about elephants and they indicated I should take the direct route as it passes through villages Sonia much safer.  They failed to mention that at least 10 dogs would come at me!! So much for safer although I’m more likely to survive a dog bite over an elephant encounter.  Despite going through a bunch of human habitat, there was still a lot of electric fences up.  The road was so narrow, an elephant would easily take up the whole road.  I asked some guys working on a fence and they said it’s only dangerous in the evening.

Scenic route. Started off on a bumpy dirt road, but turned to pavement.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Had to stop and fix my handlebar bag so took a photo of this house while I was at it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lion Rock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pidirangula Rock
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glad I’ll be gone before dusk!
Heart 1 Comment 0
That’s a lot of rules to follow!
Heart 0 Comment 0
For the record, I did not bathe in this “water” nor did I bathe any crocodiles!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I ended up riding the dirt roads around Lion Rock and met a traveler from Nicaragua.  We had a nice chat and he pointed out the way to Pidirangula Rock.  I was very close.  For various reasons, once I got there, I opted not to climb it.  

In the end, a little disappointed I didn’t climb either, but it was the right decision.  

Lion Rock
Heart 0 Comment 0
Who’s scared now?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shortcut back to the main road. It’s the locals’ access to the rocks. Foreigners had to go the long way around which is how I went to get there.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I really wanted to do a loop route and return via road B294.  I started down it and then asked some locals again about elephants.  They indicated the road was not safe in about 2-3kms as it passes through the jungle and elephants are sometimes on the road during the day.  It’s only safe for vehicles.  Ok, no need to be stupid so I returned the way I came.

Close up
Heart 0 Comment 0
Elephant moats I think. I read about this as an alternative to electric fencing
Heart 1 Comment 0

Went for another swim when I got back and relaxed the rest of the afternoon.

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 1,006 miles (1,619 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0