Feb. 11th - Semi rest day - Around Anuradhapura - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 11, 2024

Feb. 11th - Semi rest day - Around Anuradhapura

Archaeological ruins/temples

Relaxed in my comfortable room at Emerald Homestay before heading out for a bike ride to see what I could see.   Disclaimer, please google Anuradhapura Ruins for the details.  All I know is this city was Sri Lanka’s first Capitol.

First, I put google maps in “walking mode” and ended up on some dirt roads.  No worries.  I’m out for a leisurely ride and it’s nice to not have any traffic.

No traffic out here! 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
A nice view to the first stupa I see
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ruins
Heart 0 Comment 0
I guess this means you are supposed to litter?!!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’ve decided I would just ride my bike around and not pay the $35 ish dollar to gain admission to all the sites.  I’m not really that into them.  I believe there are seven stupas of significance.   I’m headed over to the “Royal Pleasure Gardens” instead.

Ha ha, look out!
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s all fun and games until there is an actual croc in the water! 😳
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh crickey!
Heart 0 Comment 0
These guys pointed the croc out to me on my way back. They asked for a photo. I assumed they meant of the three of them on THEIR phone. Nope. They wanted me to take a picture of them on MY phone. Ha ha, whatever!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Selling flowers/offerings for the temples. One of many stands.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’m closer now. It’s huge!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Let me go see what’s at the top of that hill. I mean, there’s clearly a path over this knocked down barbed wire
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks amazing. Just them a man comes along on his motorbike and as I’m walking away, “Hello! Where are you from?” I answer and continue up on. I’m thinking it will be a nice bike ride around the lake, but the man has stopped and is clearly pretending to be on his phone. My gut said I shouldn’t go up there again and besides, that whole fence issue left me I sure whether I should be up there anyways.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m annoyed now as I am getting tired of the attention from the men.  I try to be nice, but it’s just getting old and I’m only a week into my trip.  Sigh.

I reach an area in the garden where the path is just a mud pit.  Time to turn back.   It’s not all that exciting so far anyways, but it was nice to be in the shade.

See all the elephants on the wall?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pilgrims dress in white to pay their respects
Heart 0 Comment 0
What’s this in the distance? Another stupa. Let’s go find it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cattle drive
Heart 0 Comment 0
They are so skinny! 😞
Heart 0 Comment 0
Since I stood still while they all walked by me on all sides, I took too many pictures. This one is cute though!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out the ladder type thing on the side.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The leaves were HUGE!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked these flowers a lot, but the pic never indicates how pretty they were. Saw quite a few cycling along.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More nice green fields but time to head to back and by back I mean to Pizza Hut!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Yes, I am happy there is Pizza Huts here even if the menu is not quite what I am used to.  Spent the rest of the afternoon reading blogs (thanks people) and route planning and figuring out my timing.  Not as much time as I’d like so instead of heading to the little town not far away, that had a nice hill to climb for sunset views, I’m going to push to Habarana.  

Today's ride: 12 miles (19 km)
Total: 949 miles (1,527 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Nedene HennrichWill you take A9 - A11?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago