Dec 15th - Chiang Saen to Chiang Khong - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 15, 2023

Dec 15th - Chiang Saen to Chiang Khong

Hills from hell

"If you build it they will come.  Could someone build me a moving sidewalk for these hills?! 😂.   So far short and manageable, but definitely a couple steep ones.  Already covered 17 miles as I am trying to beat the hot sun.  It’s 9:40am for me.  Thankful for the cloud cover and cooler morning so far.  I never thought I’d say this, but I don’t want to see blue sky!  Keep praying for me, in about 10-15 more miles I don’t think I will be looking so happy!  If other cyclists mention the hills coming you know I’m potentially doomed! 😂😂 okay, bye, rest break is over! 🚴"The above was said on FB as I was feeling somewhat optimistic.  Things went downhill after that — downhill, not in a good way …

Nice to see a different colored statue
Heart 2 Comment 0
and temple
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is why I am detouring to the river road. The main road 1290 has even more elevation gain as evidenced above
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still in a good mood at a bus shelter rest break
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pleasant cycling through the lush landscape
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My second rest break at a fancy cafe. I actually sat at the cafe instead of out enjoying this amazing river view
Heart 1 Comment 0
Close up of the flower
Heart 1 Comment 0
Oh dear
Heart 0 Comment 0
Couldn't see as the sun was in my eyes. Good thing I took the next picture as evidence I was not over exaggerating the hills
Heart 2 Comment 0
Wtf? Who does this?
Heart 1 Comment 3
Kim JohnsonTo Rachael AndersonHa ha ha, right?!! Thanks for all the comments. Traveling solo, nice to have some interaction!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Kim JohnsonI bet it is! I’m so impressed with what you do!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
looking up and you know how the pictures never do the steepness justice
Heart 1 Comment 0
looking back down as I push my way up
Heart 2 Comment 2
Andrea BrownI know this hill. Never again.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Andrea Brown#truth
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

Kim’s 5 stages of dealing with hills today...

Stage one: no denial, but anxiety.  Was stressed for at least an hour this morning thinking about the hills at the end and wondering how hot and humid it would be.  Despite getting a 7:20am start, progress was very slow the last 10 miles meaning I was hitting them in the heat of the day. 😩 

Stage two:  acceptance.  It’s going to be okay.  You can walk them and it will be fine.  🙂

Stage three:  bargaining.  Making deals with myself on the hills.  Just take 30 more steps, then you can rest again 🥵  or, you have to start walking again when Corey finishes this song because yes, I had my headphones in

Stage four:  I’m dying!! Trying to pace myself while pushing 90+ lb bike (bike and gear).  It’s a fine line of not getting too out of breath and nauseous vs. If I stop and rest, I’m in the sun which doesn’t help things 🤢 🥵 

Stage five:  anger at seeing the last hill.  Me: F*CK!  F*ck!  F*ck! F*ck! 😡😠 😡 😠 

Do I look tired and nauseous because I am!
Heart 1 Comment 1
The view is amazing
Heart 2 Comment 0
Took a rest break on these swings at the top of the first hillside. Thought about launching myself off the hillside so as to not deal with any more hills
Heart 0 Comment 0

Man, I was one hurting person this afternoon.  😢 I have to leave Thailand tomorrow per passport or I would take a rest day to recover.   I had trouble finding the “side street” to my hotel.  Went down a super steep hill.  So steep I briefly debated walking it.  Only to discover my hotel and the next side street over I had to push back up to the entrance.  I literally, could barely do it it was so steep!  Upon arrival, a few tears fell as I was exhausted and relieved to have arrived.  

I was lucky though.  I took a break at the top of first hill which was the steepest and longest.  I got snacks and water out.  I failed to close my front pannier up and did not notice.  (Nothing went back in like would usually be the case.) I zoomed down the hill at 30-40mph.  It wasn’t until I stopped on the next uphill that I saw it wasn’t closed and that means a strap was flying loose.  Thank God it did not go into spokes!!!

Looking back downhill. It was a 12% climb
Heart 1 Comment 0
On occasion, I had fantastic views
Heart 2 Comment 0
One last hill, but I'm on the verge of tears here. Not every day on the bike can be a good day
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the home stretch. The views opposite the river are incredible!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Buddha has his back to me 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

The ride was actually quite pleasant and scenic until I hit the hills.  I have never liked climbing and I’m not good at it.  This early in the trip, it makes it even worse.  I did take a nice walk along the riverfront of Chiang Khong and really enjoyed it.  Would have been a great place to take a rest day.

I stayed at Day Riverside Hotel which has excellent reviews.  The room was pretty basic and I actually pulled out my air mattress for the bed as it was a bit hard, but the owners were incredibly thoughtful and kind and speak fluent English which for me, is always a plus.

They collect license plates from all over the world
Heart 1 Comment 0
Simple, but works
Heart 1 Comment 0
Did I mention the view off my balcony?!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I'll be heading that way tomorrow, but first must head south to the "Friendship Bridge" and backtrack up the river on the opposite shore. Only locals are allowed to take the boats directly across
Heart 1 Comment 0
About that collection of license plates
Heart 2 Comment 0
The hill that broke me. My hotel is just on the left. I literally, could barely push my bike up this one it was so steep!
Heart 1 Comment 0
multi-colored flowering tree
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cat on a hot tin roof
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
A great shot of the slow boat I'll be taking
Heart 3 Comment 0

A few more random shots from today taken with my camera so you know they must be photo worthy!

Heart 1 Comment 0
It looks like there is a path along the river, but I could never see a way to get to it
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
A dragon in the water. Probably looks really cool if the water level was just a bit higher
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 303 miles (488 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0