Dec. 14th - Mae Sai to Chiang Saen - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 14, 2023

Dec. 14th - Mae Sai to Chiang Saen

The Golden Triangle

I actually plotted a back road route out of Mai Sae today, but the lady at the front desk said I should take highway 1290.  I indicated I wanted to go by the river, but she said it was through many villages and kind of insisted I should take 1290.  I had showed her my route and asked her if it was safe.  She said 1290 was safer.  I decided I would go ahead and take her advice considering I was near the border.

Glory was sad to leave his new friends
Heart 5 Comment 0
It’s too early in the morning for Bryan Adams’ reminders 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
What’s this? Maybe tobacco per the fields I saw yesterday.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I did manage to find a side road that paralleled a canal that was just off the highway so got a little bit of quiet riding in.  It’s also easier to just follow a highway than yo get lost in the twists and turns of country roads.

There was a time when I wouldn’t have sought out alternative roads. Glad I did today.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I had to stop and fix my handlebar bag. May as well enjoy the view
Heart 2 Comment 0
Literally, the view not long after I rejoined the highway
Heart 4 Comment 0
So I circled back to investigate
Heart 3 Comment 0
These two ladies had very flowery shirts on. I was trying to be discreet about my pic so not the best shot
Heart 1 Comment 0


I had things to see today like the Golden Triangle.  That’s where Laos , Thailand, and Myanmar converge.  Notorious for drugs and crime, but much safer these days.😀 Didn’t actually take a good picture of it because a) I was tired b) got distracted and c) thought the river looked ugly and muddy.  



Part of the Golden Triangle. Only shot I got
Heart 1 Comment 0
Golden Triangle
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
These motorcyclists came up to me with out stretched hands and said, “much respect” and then wanted a selfie with me. Made me feel good.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I thought this elephant looked cool
Heart 1 Comment 0
Then I realized I had to walk under it 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0
To see this
Heart 1 Comment 0

Had to see the Hall of Opium museum too after a nice long rest break.  I just read an article in the news that Myanmar has just taken over as the number one producer of opium.  It was only 50 b for admission.  Here’s everything you need to know about the the flower/drug and then some

Looks pretty enough
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Rich FrasierNice that they give you step-by-step instructions! :)
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rich FrasierRight?! Ha ha ha
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Say no to drugs and drug smuggling!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am in Chiang Saen next to the mighty Mekong River.  Laos on the other side.  Only 24 miles today with one hill (from hell) eliciting hike-n-bike.  Thankful, not too long.  I had to stop and rest pushing my bike up it!  🥵 Steep! 

A steep one!
Heart 3 Comment 0

A series of brutal hills await me at the end of my day tomorrow.  Pray for me! 😂

My day ended nicely at Siam Triangle Hotel

Infinity pool
Heart 3 Comment 0
Home sweet home
Heart 2 Comment 0
Mekong River, Laos across the river
Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s a big gulp!! I’m happy 😃
Heart 1 Comment 0
Found a Seahawks houseboat
Heart 2 Comment 0
Where does the pool end and the river begin
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 264 miles (425 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0