Dec 13th - Chiang Rai to Mae Sai - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 13, 2023

Dec 13th - Chiang Rai to Mae Sai

Please note:  I made the Dec 8th page visible again even though the pictures aren't showing.  Wrote in for help, but no one responded.  It's an important page as I explain what "cycling beyond" means to me

Decided to head due north today to work on getting some mileage in and building my strength.  As a bonus, I knew it was all flat.  I went ahead and stayed on Highway 1 all day.  Yes, there was traffic, but I had a nice wide shoulder, and the pavement was in excellent condition.

After getting checked into my hotel, CHOUR Palace hotel that I negotiated down to 850 baht, I went out to explore.  First, and only stop at the Northern Most (Point) of Thailand. 

Myanmar has been in a civil war since a military coup in 2021.  Hence, this border is closed to all foreigners.  Still a busy border crossing it seemed and lots of huge stores selling all kinds of goods.

When I got back to the hotel, I was googling sights for this town and saw there is a purple temple with a skybridge with amazing views over to Myanmar.  Was too hot and tired to hot out again.  Bummer.

Leaving Chiang Rai. Nice lanterns decorating the streets. Very festive and I like the colors!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rest break at a small temple. I climbed what I thought was a small hill, but as I was sitting there trying to relax, everyone driving by kept honking their horn!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Andrea BrownThese roadside shrines, often at hilltops or dangerous curves are places where people believe they should acknowledge the spirits to ensure safety on the road. We always ring our bells. But at first we thought they were honking at US, ha.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Andrea BrownI remember experiencing the honking in Phuket at the top of a hill and shrine too . Couldn’t remember the reason. Thanks for the explanation.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Look closely. The chairs are padlocked. Umm, I don't think they have to worry about them being stolen!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I want to live there
Heart 3 Comment 0
Nice mountain views and lots of agriculture. What's this crop?
Heart 0 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltHard to tell for sure, but zoomed in, it looks like tobacco.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Andrea BrownTo Bill ShaneyfeltDefinitely tobacco.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Andrea BrownThanks Bill!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Kim JohnsonOr shall I say, Andrea!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Even though the heat is getting to me, there's no way I could resist stopping for photos. Sunflowers, they're a Corey Hart thing. My other idol.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It seemed appropriate because I listened to Corey's playlist today after the traffic calmed down a bit.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Glory!!!! And that's Myanmar just past the flags on the bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
I haven't really been telling anyone what route I'm taking, but here was a hint for my last location
Heart 2 Comment 0
Pink, that's different. I like it
Heart 2 Comment 0
I'm dying to know what kind of services they offer here! 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 240 miles (386 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0