Dec 16th - Chiang Khong to Huay Xai - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 16, 2023

Dec 16th - Chiang Khong to Huay Xai

Welcome to Laos!  Welcome to a 3rd world country!  I thought I might take an extra day here to recover before catching the infamous slow boat to Luang Prabang, but let's just say I'll be taking the slow boat tomorrow.  Things are noticeably poorer on this side of the river.

I had to go a few miles down river, so I could take a bus across the "Friendship Bridge," so I could then head upriver again.  Craziness abounds!  

Oh look! Milepost 116 on my way out of Thailand 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ha ha ha, still love Bryan Adams' music. Less impressed with him these days, but I decided to play nice for a classic photo....Summer of 69 style
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stamped out of Thailand immigration with no issue, but was told I can't bike across the bridge.  So, I've heard.  You aren't allowed to bicycle across the bridge and instead are forced to pay 125b (25 for me, 100 for the bike) to put your bike on the bus and be driven across the bridge.  Let's just say, I'm pretty sure it's about the money.  The Laos immigration process was a major pain in the butt, but aren't they all?  They wouldn't let me on the bus that was about to leave because supposedly it was too small.  I must wait for the next bus.  Okay, know problem.  Then they tell me me that it leaves in 30  minutes.  Uuuugh.  Even though I was first there, I was practically last on the bus, meaning last off which didn't really matter as I had to wait for my bike anyways.  All my bags were loaded in the undercarriage of the bus, except my bike which went in the very back of the bus in the last row of seats.  At any rate, now I'm last in line for immigration as well.  It's hot, I've still got to cycle to town and they have one person working all windows.  Some Europeans had an e-visa which is suppose to simplify the process, but they had to wait even longer as the person who handled that, had gone to lunch.  

I eventually got sorted and stamped into Laos, but not before the extremely picky bank officer where I paid my $40 visa fee, rejected three of my $20 bills as they had a small speck of black ink at the bottom.  Listen fella.  I'm American, these bills came from an American bank.  They don't get any more legit than this 😂 Sigh.

there was no "Welcome to Laos" sign that I saw and my goat picture that I was going to use as a substitute, didn't turn out.  Oh well.  The good news about Laos is that they drive on the right-hand side of the street.  Yay.  At least that's normal to me once I get reacclimated to it.  Made my way into town and a number of kids were shouting hello to me.  That was nice after my immigration irritable experience(s).  Don't ask me about loading and unloading my own baggage despite everyone elses being done for them.  Grrrrr.  I'm the only person who paid extra.  Perhaps you could help out a bit?!

There isn't a great selection of hotel on the Laos side, but it's basically an overnight stop for the arrival and departure of the slow boat.   I stayed in a basic room at Riverside HuayXay Hotel opting for a basic room with no river view.  The wood floors were nice, and the shower pressure was great.  The hotels all sell the slow boat tickets, but at a markup.  I went ahead and walked down to the pier and bought a ticket.  Lucky me got a front seat.  Word on the street is the back of the boat is extremely noise and there are a lot of diesel fumes.  All set for my two-day river cruise I've been dreaming about for 8 years!  Can't wait!

I'm in Laos now riding along the river
Heart 2 Comment 0
Made a new friend on my way back from the pier. Shockingly enough, it's not a cat!
Heart 1 Comment 0
View from the restaurant, that didn't seem to be operating, from my hotel. There's that Buddha again!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Chiang Khong on the other side is a lot more festive
Heart 2 Comment 0
A glimpse of the sunset between two buildings. Reminder that sometimes between the filth and poverty, beautiful things still exist.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Night
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 13 miles (21 km)
Total: 316 miles (509 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0