Playa del Carmen - Central America - CycleBlaze

December 12, 2022

Playa del Carmen

What a great first riding day!  A glorious tail wind made the short 42 miles - pancake flat, a short day.  Not a lot of scenery between Cancun and Play del Carmen though.  Although a few times Komoot wanted me to take some turns off the main highway through some nasty dirt roads.  Not doing that Komoot.  

What an absolute fun, fun place Playa Del Carmen is!  So much better than Cancun!  There is this huge outdoor mall that must go for a couple of miles where you can find everything you could possible want and more.  As I was coming in to this mall area, I was stopped by this couple about the same age as me from the US that was asking me about my Sporty DaBrim and all my gear for about 10 min.  They have a place here that they escape too every winter (not sure where exactly they are from).  I went back out this evening and the night life along this outdoor strip was amazing.  It is similar to Vegas, only much more intimate, and of course with a Mexican flair.  A great place for grabbing a drink right in the pedestrian traffic and people-watching.  Already this ranks right up there with Times Square and Vegas for places I'd go back to in a heartbeat for people-watching and audio/visual stimulation!

With walking around so much here, and plus I still need to cover some work meetings on Monday, no video today.  Just lots of pictures below.  I just love Cycleblaze for ease of picture captions.  So much better than CGOAB.

Leaving my hotel from Cancun. Those palm fruits are really big on the ground - they could leave a mark. And yes, Bike Bar 666 played incredibly loud music until 2:00 am again - on a Sunday night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quiz: the lane to the right of the dashed line on the right side of the road is: a) a shoulder to change tires in, b) a very wide bike lane, or c) another lane for small cars that don't want to wait in the other lane? Answer: All of the above!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Outside my hotel room in Playa del Carmen.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Well, they have to put the toilet paper somewhere I suppose - watch your head!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ah, an authentic non-Walmart meal - finally! The water is so warm too!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltGotta admire how banyan tree roots reach down from the limbs.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Banyan
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
The color of the water was incredible!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
At the shopping district.
Heart 0 Comment 0
People-watching!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 52 miles (84 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0