Me and my gear - Central America - CycleBlaze

Me and my gear

Kona Sutra - itching to hit the road!
Heart 3 Comment 0

Howdy!  I'm a newcomer here from... that other site.  I started distance riding about 10 years ago with the US West Coast (9/2013 - 16 days from Seattle to Los Angeles - I was a lot younger then and in better shape!).  Ever since then, I knew I was hooked and wanted to go down south in a big way.  Other tours since then include the US East Coast (5/2017 - 3 weeks from Florida to Maine - listed currently on CGOAB with the user name kendyc - I'll move it over here eventually), and the coast of Portugal (7/2019 - 2 weeks, four videos posted on my YouTube channel).  

This trip was supposed to be all the way to Ushuaia, but work issues/conflicts and other things are forcing me to split it up to just do Central America for right now.  I suppose it is a good way to dip my toe into the area first, and hopefully I'll return and be able to post South America soon after!

I've always been a Trek guy (all previous tours have been on a Trek Portland), but when I went shopping for a new bike in 2022, supply chain shortages prevented me from getting a Trek 520, but I'm thrilled with this 2022 Kona Sutra so far!  My first steel bike, it is solid and handles real well. It is mostly stock except:

Seat: Serfas MSD 100 EGel (tried the Brooks on the West Cost but just wasn't for me)

Stem: Redshift - to help save the wrist, then double wrapped handlebar tape too.  And Quad Lock iPhone holder.

Profile Design aero bars - not that I'll be racing, but to take a brake from the using hands all day.  I've always toured with these and they really save my hands from getting numb!

Tires: Schwalbe Marathon Plus

Pedals: Shimano Click'r, for quick on/off

Rack: Axiom.  It seemed to fit the Ortlieb bags better than the Kona stock rack.

Paniers: Ortlieb Backroller Plus Pro.  I have not fully packed everything as a dry run yet, but hoping it all fits in here without front racks.  Yes, I know about the weight equalization and all, but I can secure everything from theft or whatever a little better with minimal bags here for this destination.

Can't wait to get going!  It will be a great time to escape the cold rain of the PNW to, well, warm rain :)  Actually, the rainy season tapers off in December in Mexico and south, so, it should be much nicer than here, though I'll have plenty of rain gear with me still!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Steve Miller/GrampiesWelcome to our friendly site. We hope to enjoy reading about many adventures of yours in the years to come.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rich FrasierWelcome! I'm looking forward to following along on your adventure. Sounds exciting!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bob DistelbergWelcome! And by the way, that looks like a great bike setup!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
Welcome. I’ll be following along as we endure the winter. Bonne route!
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
George HallWelcome to our friendly site! I just discovered this journal, cant wait to catch up with your adventures.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago