Tulum - Central America - CycleBlaze

December 13, 2022

Tulum

Another perfect day today with a bit of a tailwind out of Playa del Carmen!  I got to Tulum early, so went straight to the Tulum Ruins.  It was going to be difficult to walk around without my walking shoes that were buried, and to lock up my panniers, so I went to look for a hotel to drop that off and change.  After 3 nights of loud music, I researched the hotel I had planned to stay at and, sure enough, complaints of loud music - this time from the lobby, so, I went into town to look for another place.  I stumbled upon this absolutely charming brand new hotel within a master-planned complex, complete with shops, restaurants, fitness centers, and even a yoga place.  Total expat haven.  I talked to the owner of the hotel for a bit when I checked in.  He's french - retired from there maybe, but his Spanish was very good.  It was hard getting through his native accent though!  He indicated that there were lots of Canadians and Europeans moving here.  

Anyway, after a quick change, unloading the bike, and lunch bite up on the roof where the pool was too, I was off to the ruins again - or as I like to call it, the Kingdom of Giant Lizards (Iguanas I suspect).  The Tulum ruins were inhabited in the 5th century and lasted as long as the 16th with up to 1,600 inhabitants, until disease brought by the Spanish wiped out most of the population.  The Mayans sure knew how to appreciate a  good view!  Side note: my Sutra sure does handle well when its loaded up, but it is nice and nimble and a lot easier when it is not loaded :)

Back to the hotel and walking what seemed like a couple miles around my hotel within this huge complex.  For the first time of the trip, I found an area I could call home for a while.  It is awful hot though.  But lots to do in this area, and very safe from what I understand.

My hotel room in Tulum. Brand new, all concrete, but with very nice wood trim.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Really nice bathroom!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Checkout that polished stone lavatory!
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltGotta love the colorful layers in onyx!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
From the 2nd floor atrium.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Back at the Lizard Kingdom (Tulum Ruins)
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltBlack spiny tailed iguanas

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/35303-Ctenosaura-similis
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I never saw this big guy completely, but I'm imaging from nose to tip of tail is at least 3 ft.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Your majesty
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltStrangler fig

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/316762-Ficus-cotinifolia/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A few pics back at the master-planned complex around my hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Working on my post at the bar tonight, since my room does not have a table (my room is #1 to the left - hey I had room #1 yesterday too!). There is not a soul around though. I feel like I have the whole place to myself. I could definitely work here for a long time! And at $65/night...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 92 miles (148 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltI would love to visit Tulum some day!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago