Pines to Palms Ride - Poking Around South of the Border - CycleBlaze

March 8, 2022

Pines to Palms Ride

Crunch!

After a morning hike Kathleen explored El Paseo Drive and enjoyed the pool and I did a solo ride up the Pines to Palms highway in the afternoon.   The straight stretch leading out of Palm Desert at El Paseo Drive where our condo is located is a  steady climb of about 6 kms with a nice shoulder.   Today I was able to find some side streets for a good part of the climb to avoid some of the traffic noise. 

On my way up there was an accident involving a pickup. Crunch!  I pulled over to check things out stopping in front of a car where a woman (the driver’s mother) was shouting instructions to her son.  She had a very large unhappy dog in her car barking and looking like he wanted a piece of me when I decided to strike up a conversation. Hearing the commotion mommy’s boy came over from across the street and asked what I was doing. “Oh just checking out the accident”  I said.   His response was that I was going to cause one.  I took that as my cue to carry on with my ride rather than risk him opening the door and letting Fido loose. 

Crunch!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Where is my wheel?
Heart 0 Comment 0

I carried on until I reached the start of the switch backs, took a couple photos of the view and headed back down.  A quick stop near the top was made to check out the Santa Rosa and San Jacinto Mountains National  Monument Visitor Center and then a  great ride down looping over towards Indian Wells then back to our accommodation.    


Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Following the ride we attended a fundraiser tennis event (Tie Break Tens) in the evening with friends at the BNP Paribas Open featuring the top female tennis players including Canada’s Laylah Fernandez. The event was won by Amanda Anisimova walking away with $150,000 for her efforts. The fast pace of the event and the opportunity to see so many top ranked women players was great. 

Some serious talent here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Laylah Fernandez serving.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 km (18 miles)
Total: 145 km (90 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Steve Miller/GrampiesNone of the photos on this page worked for me. Maybe just my computer?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Suzanne GibsonSame here, I'm not seeing the photos! Even without the pictures from this day, it looks like you had some wonderful rides. Glad you decided to post them for us.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Steve Miller/GrampiesSheesh. I am not seeing them either. Back to the drawing board, as it were.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Suzanne GibsonI can’t see them either! Clearly something went wrong. I am going to fix that now.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenHmmmmm. The photos are there in the edit page, but not there in the public page. I think I will try deleting and rendering them. Any other ideas?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenWell, that didn’t work. I am really baffled.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen ClassenMakes no sense to me either. As an idea, why don’t you attempt to create a new page and add the photos there. Assuming that works, you can delete the corrupted page.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenThat is a great idea. Thank you. It is so odd that they are in the edit page but not the public page. We are just packing up for the last leg of the road trip home so it will have to wait until this evening. We have had such a great trip. We had forgotten how gorgeous the Oregon Coast is.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rachael AndersonGlad you got to go South and find warmer weather. You earned it! Thanks for writing it up.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen ClassenAn afterthought. Assuming that works, you might leave the problem page in place and send a note to Jeff to look at it. It might help him diagnose the problem if he can see the page.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesJust to confuse matters, or maybe to offer a clue, last night I saw almost the same phenomenon with the final photos in Leo Woodland's blog, though the very first one on the page worked. The clue is that maybe this is a Cycleblaze glitch that has come up...
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Scott AndersonNothing I did worked, but Jeff was able to fix it. I am so grateful.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago