Day 55 - Indonesia - a border crossing, a big climb and turning down an offer to sleep with a trainee Catholic priest - Unfinished Business - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2023

Day 55 - Indonesia - a border crossing, a big climb and turning down an offer to sleep with a trainee Catholic priest

I didn't ask myself "I wonder what will unfold today?" and if I had I'd probably believe it because this is what happens when you travel.

The internet was good when I woke so I got stuck in and did the Balibo entry. I wanted to be at the border early so that I could cross, get money, sort out my phone and so forth. I could not find the opening time so gave up the early start and wandered down there at 8, only to find that it opens at 9  (8 on the Indonesian side thanks to the time difference). 

It's hard to believe that there's a border a km away.
Heart 3 Comment 0
But there it is!
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was a typical border crossing. I had to put my bags through x-rays on both sides. I wheeled my bike in on the Timor Leste side and carried only half my bags in on the Indonesian side. As I rode out, the motorcycle money changers jumped on me but with a very poor deal. They couldn't be swayed so I rode off with no rupiah. I was dead lazy and took a red-tie selfie. So much happening that I forgot my indigo shirt.

Heart 7 Comment 0

It was beautiful coastal scenery for 25 km before the road turned south. I knew what that meant.

In case you're confused: blue sea, sand, tree, mangroves and a very colourful boat.
Heart 4 Comment 0

There were any number of stalls selling fish, especially bonito. I usually buy something and then ask for a photo. I didn't want to cycle with a bonito....

All religious building were churches not mosques. Some were most attractive. By day's end I had not seen a mosque or heard the call.

I felt relieved when a fellow said "God bless" for I had already had a few hundred "hello misters".
Heart 3 Comment 0
It pointed up the hill, not to the church.
Heart 3 Comment 0

And so, in the heat of the day and without rupiah (a couple of ATMS didn't like me) or a useful phone, I headed up a colossus. The descending motorcyclists had their engines turned off; what more did I need to know? I plugged away and finally cracked the top and a little later reached Atambua. I got a million rupiah at the fourth attempt, grabbed food and got directions to a phone shop, where Vikki sorted out my Telcomcel plan - very kind of him. I figured out the road towards Kupang and celebrated everything with a coffee. I had done 42 km and wondered whether I could find another 54 to Halilulik. Of course I could! I pushed hard and stopped only for photos, food and water.

Here's a bunch of random photos.

Heart 5 Comment 0
The view from the cafe in Atambua
Heart 2 Comment 0
A football field with grass unlike those in Timor Leste.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The same markers as in Timor Leste. Spot on every time. Why can't we have them in Australia?
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMy guess... too many miles for the number of people.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Ian WallisTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, we do have them on major roads in places. On others, they're every 5km. I don't want to see official roadsigns, as I saw in the NT, that indicate a campground and food ahead only to find that it closed 5 years ago.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
There's an election in 2024
Heart 3 Comment 0
A rare lull in the traffic
Heart 3 Comment 0

It was 5.30 when I got to Halelulik. How could I not sing Hale-lu-lik, Hale-lu-lik, Hale-lu-lik, HALLE-LU-JAH? First thing food. I succeded and ate two plates of rice, tofu, tempeh and vegetables washed down with two cups of sweet tea. It was here that I met an overzealous trainee Catholic priest who offered accommodation. I had established already that there's no hotel here.

So, I thought I'd do an inspection. The large family were obviously poor and all males smoked from age 10 up. Using Google Translator, I explained to my man, whose name escapes me, that smoking is terrible. He disagreed! Google Translator helped once more when he showed me the sleeping arrangements - a double bed with him! I typed in "My wife does not like me sleeping with other people".

A smoking demonstration. My man has the phone.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Ian DouglasIndonesian resorts seem to assume your teenage children will happily share a bed.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I decided to seek alternative accommodation and now reside in an office in the police station, using my sleeping mat, etc. They wouldn't give me a cell! But they did install a light bulb and let me use WiFi. What a difference! And who should turn up here? My Catholic priest-to-be. At that point I wheeled my bike into the room and locked the door.

A group photo
Heart 6 Comment 0
My space, taken from my sleeping mat.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Today I traveled!

Today's ride: 98 km (61 miles)
Total: 4,543 km (2,821 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
John GrantHe was really committed to all aspects of his training !
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Graham SmithToday’s blog post should be a top hit. It’s steamy mix of sex, politics and religion should attract many readers.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago